Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Hush Puppies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hush Puppies

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2003

      Fantastic!!! They rolled over just like they were supposed to!! (Good puppies!! hehe!!)--not greasy, easy to make..we had this with an oven fried fish meal and what a wonderful accompanyment!! thank you for this one..I'll be making them again and again!! Teresa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Delicious! I used this recipe in my first ever try to make hush puppies and they turned out great! I used skim milk, left out the peppers because I didn't have any on hand, abd added a few dashes if Cajun seasoning instead. It took ne a couple puppies to get the temperature right but once I did they were easy! Even my picky teenage brother enjoyed them. I will make these puppies again, probably with jalapeño as others have suggested to see if they are even better when spicy !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      Great recipe! I added some cheese and jalapenos, it turned out awesome. Everbody raved about it, this is a keeper. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      I'm a first time hushpuppy fryer and these came out super! Everyone loved them. They were so light and crispy. Had to say no to the 5th helping!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      These are completely and totally wonderful. Light, airy, sweet and savory. I added a bit of garlic salt and Old Bay seasoning and they were the perfect complement to fried, panko-breaded fresh-caught Alaskan halibut. We are very serious about our fish-fries when we have halibut, and these will be on the menu from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      Oh my goodness, these are good. I loved the grated onion, it helped distribute throughout the entire batter. I also shredded my yellow pepper so it wasn't such big chunks....delicious. My kids always want to go to that popular chain restaurant just for the hushpuppies and now I can make them at home. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      Wow, great recipe. Crisp and extremely tender outside, soft inside, cooked through well, not doughy. I love sweet hushpuppies so the sugar was perfect. The entire family loved them, my boys are 3 and 4 and I have deprived them of hush puppies til now, they won't let me forget to make them from now on. Wow. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      this is a great recipe. i've never had luck with the texture of mine but these were delicious. i used jiffy corn muffin mix which is sweet already so i didnt add sugar. this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Unbelievable!!!!!!!!! Exactly what a hushpuppy should be!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This was my first try at Hush Puppies. I was so happy with the results. The only change I made was to use one small can of diced green chili's (drained) instead of the green pepper. I could have eat these by themselves as a meal. My guests were all saying that these were much better than the hush puppies they were used to experiencing at different bbq restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      I SO agree with Ken - exactly like Chesapeake Bay Seafood House as a kid. Even better than I had hoped because I had a mind's eye of what I expect a hushpuppy to taste like and have been disappointed so many times. The first bite both my husband and I said "THAT'S IT!!!!!!!!!!" Waaaay too much for two of us, but I froze the rest of the batter in containers and will have them again real soon. Thanks so very, very much! Way above and beyond the call of duty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      This is a GREAT recipe! The taste reminds me of the hush puppies I had at Chesapeake Bay Seafood House as a kid. This recipe is better than ANY store bought brand. If you want quality hush puppies, do yourself a favor and USE THIS RECIPE! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      I grated up some jalapenos with my onions and also ended up using regular flour with a little added baking powder, they turned out wonderful!! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      Well, we had fun with these! I tried the 'spoon' method but the puppies got kind of crumby before they came off of the spoon, which they didn't do easily, and I had to flip them. About half way through, I took small spoonfuls of batter, rolled between my palms like a meatball, then gently dropped into the oil. It worked perfectly and they flipped over all by themselves! They were very tasty but a little sweet; I think I will add some cayenne next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      These were delicious. I used sour cream instead of milk and bread crumbs instead of bread because I just didn't have the other items on hand. Everyone loved them! I used a small cookie scoop to drop the hush puppies into the deep fryer. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      this recipe is too tasty for my own good! i added a half teaspoon of cayenne pepper and i also added one grated jalapeno pepper (sounds really spicy but really it was just a small kick). mine didn't flip themselves over, but it was still a breeze to make. i made these last thursday, and DH requested them again by sunday. it did make a lot of batter, so instead of freezing the leftover puppies, i froze the leftover batter...turned out as perfect as the first time. thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      Well, it only took me about 25 years (and probably 2 tons of cornmeal) to find the perfect hush puppy recipe... I've tried many that tasted okay, but they always came up short in the texture department. These were perfection -- crisp and golden outside and incredibly light inside. It must be the breadcrumbs, because that's a most unusual addition. I used 1 T. of sugar and pickled jalapenos instead of bell pepper, otherwise following the recipe exactly. BeachGirl, these little puppies are fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      These were yummy! Although I must admit, my technique needs improvement, as they were kind of funny-shaped and required some assistance on my part in the "flipping department". I look forward to perfecting my technique next time, and believe me, there WILL be a next time. Another little note: these make a lot more than the batter would lead you to believe, for me they fed 4 adults with leftovers. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2005

      These may very well be the BEST hushpuppies I've ever eaten ~ and I made them by myself! Just the right amount of sugar and onion flavor to give them a little personality. Very easy to make. I just popped them into my deep fryer after cooking the fish. I like the idea that the batter can be made well in advance. These hushpuppies made our fish fry complete! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, BeachGirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2004

      I just fixed this recipe for dinner and it was very very good!!! When my husband says, "This is a keeper" I know he liked it a lot...me too!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hush Puppies

    Serving Size: 1 (41 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 56.1
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    14%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 23.6 mg
    7%
    Sodium 416.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Jiffy cornbread mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites