Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Incredible & Easy Raised Donuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Incredible & Easy Raised Donuts

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on May 25, 2009

      HOLY COW! These are wonderful. I made them just on a whim and boy am I glad I did. I used 3 cups of flour and my jumbo mixer with the bread thingy that hardly ever gets used. Guess what? It will now. Thanks so much. Like another reviewer said, "We don't need no stinking Krispy Kreme's!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      These were OK. They were very easy but they did seem a bit....flat. Some of mine that I had worked more (the scraps I kneaded together then cut out others) seemed to raise better. Also-I didn't know how thick to roll. I left them for about 1 hour and they were MUCH better than only 30 min. Texture ended up OK though. Much over 1 hr rising was too much as they ended up not firm enough to work with. I too used almost 3 cups of flour using my mixer with dough hook. I left out the cinnamon as we aren't huge fans. I fried 1-2 at a time in my fry daddy using a skewer to turn and move them. I cut them with my biggest round buscuit cutter (3") and used my apple corer for the holes, it worked great!

      I glazed with a simple powdered sugar and milk glaze. I found that warming up the glaze (I put in a double boiler/glass bowl over almost simmering water) made it work great! I was able to dip them then leave on a wire rack to drip off.
      The taste was OK. Not knocking me over though. I was trying to find one that replicates our local small town bakery. Not quite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      These are great! I made a glaze using fresh blackberries from our garden, and we are loving them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      Now I'm a fussy food lover, coming from a history of top cooks in 5 star hotel ones, so I rate my taste buds as above average, this recipe was my first attempt at doughnuts and everyone who tasted them raved, no jokes like aawww so good please make me a whole lot etc, they froze and reheated excellently. I noticed when fresh ie same time cooked they have a distinguished sour taste but after freezing and reheating this sour taste goes away, possibly the yeast needs to die? Thanks so much I got 40 small doughnuts from one mix. I have made these twice now. Plain icing sugar straight from the packet for coating is a hit with my 5yr old daughter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      I've never tried scratch yeast donuts until this morning, they were SUPER easy and everyone really liked them. My hubby's only suggestion is that next time I make the dough a little sweeter so I'll add a few more spoons of sugar but I personally loved them as it. I made three kinds out of one batch (which made 20 good size donuts & holes) I did glazed, chocolate glaze and cinnamon sugar.

      the glaze was a simple 1/4 cup water, 1 teaspoon vanilla & 2 cups powdered sugar

      the chocolate glaze was 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips, 2 tablespoon corn syrup, 1 teaspoon vanilla, melt in microwave at 30 second intervals till smooth

      *uploaded a picture of how they turned out*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      I made donuts for the first time last night! I wanted a simple recipe with ingredients I had in the house--these were sooo good! They definitely need more flour than the recipe calls for and I let them rise for a little longer than 30 min. After they came out of the fryer I brushed a little butter on them and covered them in cinnamon sugar. They tasted like elephant ears you get at the fair! Yum! Will definitely be saving this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      It was ok, not wonderful or good. texture was fine. I would not make these again. I made it as instructed and put chocolate glaze on top. Could've done without the cinnamon. Used the amount of flour and it was a batter not a dough had to use 1.5 more cups of flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      These donuts were GREAT!! I made them at 12pm when i had a sweet tooth. The one thing I didn't like is the fact that they were so... thin, but I guess that could be because I may not have let them rise enough. I used Olive Oil to fry them and they turned out perfect. Rolled them in cinnamon and sugar and they were perfect for the midnight snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Everyone liked these donuts. My SiL said they tasted alot like crispy cremes.I tossed the holes in cinnamon sugar and glazed the donut with 2 1/2 tblsp butter 1 c powder sugar 3/4 tsp vanilla and 2 tblsp hot water..Next time I will use a larger cutter as these were smaller than we like..Thank U for this recipe,,,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      Wonderfully easy donuts...turned out perfect, I used a glaze from a krispy kreme donut recipe and they looked just like them & tasted so good!! Thank You for a wonderful recipe that I will make over & over again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Oh Dan, I have to tell you this recipe is the BEST. Had my 2 DGSs and each had a friend visit for the weekend. That meant FOUR hungry boys and they were requesting donuts. Well, as we live in a remote area with no donut shops this was not the easiest request. But no problem - turned to Zaar and found this awesome recipe. Made it exactly as directed and found it sooo easy, the hardest part was trying to figure out what to cut out the holes with (solved that with the cap from the vanilla bottle) then topped the donuts with Donut Glaze and rolled the holes in sugar and cinnamin. Yum; wonderful, soft, but nicely raised fresh donuts - move over Krispy Cream - there's a new donut in town. I do have to say though, this only made 12 regular size donuts from me so if you want 24 - I'd suggest doubling the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I especially liked the donut holes frosted with Nutella.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      These are AWESOME! I was told "We dont need no stinkin' KripyKreme's!!!" This was the first time I had tried making donuts. I got a deepfryer for Christmas & thought why not. They were easy, fast and taste great. The directions were spot on. I ended up using about 3 cups of flour in the mixer, 2.5 left the dough too sticky. I fried mine at about 360* because they got a little too brown for us at 375. We glazed some & put some in sugar and cinnamon. These are a keeper at our house. Thanx Cooker Man Dan :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      I made these donuts based on the reviews given it. These were incredibly easy but also incredibly embarassing, because I served them to guests before trying them my self. Every one was doughy in the center. I followed the recipe just as it was written, and even cooked them at least 1 minute per side as one reviewer said she did. They came out doughy. This is one recipe that won't be making it's way into my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      These were a hit! Yum. We just used a plain glaze on ours and they were delicious. I rolled them about 1/4" thick and that seemed about right. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Man these are dangerous to have around! They are soooo good! I was amazed at how easy they were and how fast they cook! Make sure you have your glaze and toppings ready. You have to put it on when they are pretty warm. This is a definite keeper! Thanks for a great kid pleaser recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      Really good recipe. I also used 3 cups flour and the bread machine. Thanks to fellow reviewer. I also kept my oil at 350*. I started out with 400* and the turned really dark. 350* gave them a nice light golden brown color. These were so simple to make. I frosted them with fudge frosting and they were seriously sinful. I don't know how often I will make them considering the frying, but what a treat! Next time I think I will glaze them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      These were great! My kids sat in the kitchen waiting for these to cool and ate them as fast as they were done. They said these are better than the donuts from the donut shop!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      these are great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      First time made these, were really easy & tasted great. Mix is very light & tasty. Taste gorgeous.Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Incredible & Easy Raised Donuts

    Serving Size: 1 (740 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.7
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    32%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 29.0 mg
    9%
    Sodium 246.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites