28 Reviews

My Good Italian friend told me about these, and the next day I made them. I found them easy to make , no problem with the rice holding together. I added some Garlic salt and Chopped Basil that added some Flavor. I used a Ice-cream scoop to make my balls which helped with the size being consistant and also you have to have a bowl of water to keep your hands wet while forming your balls....They were Awesome and I can see they will be a New Favorite in my house !!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunsetcherie_12326109 March 21, 2011

This is a great method...Just the way I do it. I always add the mozzerella cheese in the middle and I also mix peas into the rice mixture.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danasdelights October 06, 2007

I made these two days ago for the first time, my family loved them. I ended up making them again last night. I used Ricotta cheese last night- would not recommend using it again, the rice balls did not stick together very well. Over all my family loved them and I have a very pickly eater and she said to definately make them again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dolshea July 24, 2011

These were pretty good, but could have used more flavor, perhaps some Italian seasoning and more salt. If you're using cheese, cube it to 1/4 inch or smaller, but next time I'll try grating it and mixing into the hot rice for a better consistency bite to bite. They were a little difficult to form at first, it definitely requires a light touch, but if you cup them between your fingers (one hand over the other) so that as much of the surface area is covered as possible, they come together fairly well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cassandra.M January 12, 2010

I made these for a New Years Day party and they went over very well. I only had brown rice on hand, so that is what I used. Next time I'll use white rice as I think it will give it a better texture. The brown rice have them a nutty flavor that was good, but I think they would stick together better with white and let the other flavors stand out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lt. Amy January 06, 2010

I made these using leftover rice - they didn't hold together as well after adding the egg, probably because all the ingredients were cold - but I let the mixture sit in the fridge for a few hours, made into balls as best I could, then froze for a few minutes to get them solid. I actually baked mine and it worked well. I loved using the little cubes of cheese inside!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mayness November 12, 2009

This recipe is a great start. I have used it several times. *Note to emilyering. Cook your rice until sticky and if after you put the ingredients together and the rice is still crumbly add a bit of water until it is sticky. Also, make sure your oil is really hot. I wish you luck!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susy Q April 04, 2009

Excellent recipe, a keeper. I have been trying to find a recipe for several months for these since having them as an appetizer at a local restaurant. This is the one and it will be one of the very few items that get fried in our house. I will be sharing this recipe with several others who were searching as well. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alison.a March 22, 2009

I think I'm not a good fryer, because I had a hard time with these. They crumbled in the pan, and were oily. I would love to figure out a way to bake these instead. I will say, though, that I made them for our NYE party and they got rave reviews. The taste was great...my lack of frying skills were to blame. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emilyering March 17, 2009

These are very good. I added shredded mozzarella to the rice mix. Next time I will cut back on the basil a bit... it was a little over powering. I think you could jazz these up with a little bit of chili powder or paprika mixed into the bread crumbs. I also noticed that the balls didn't hold up very well. Any tips?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GourmetGradStudent February 28, 2009
Italian Rice Balls