Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Italian Rice Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Rice Balls

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2011

      My Good Italian friend told me about these, and the next day I made them. I found them easy to make , no problem with the rice holding together. I added some Garlic salt and Chopped Basil that added some Flavor. I used a Ice-cream scoop to make my balls which helped with the size being consistant and also you have to have a bowl of water to keep your hands wet while forming your balls....They were Awesome and I can see they will be a New Favorite in my house !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      This is a great method...Just the way I do it. I always add the mozzerella cheese in the middle and I also mix peas into the rice mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      I made these two days ago for the first time, my family loved them. I ended up making them again last night. I used Ricotta cheese last night- would not recommend using it again, the rice balls did not stick together very well. Over all my family loved them and I have a very pickly eater and she said to definately make them again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      These were pretty good, but could have used more flavor, perhaps some Italian seasoning and more salt. If you're using cheese, cube it to 1/4 inch or smaller, but next time I'll try grating it and mixing into the hot rice for a better consistency bite to bite. They were a little difficult to form at first, it definitely requires a light touch, but if you cup them between your fingers (one hand over the other) so that as much of the surface area is covered as possible, they come together fairly well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      I made these for a New Years Day party and they went over very well. I only had brown rice on hand, so that is what I used. Next time I'll use white rice as I think it will give it a better texture. The brown rice have them a nutty flavor that was good, but I think they would stick together better with white and let the other flavors stand out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      I made these using leftover rice - they didn't hold together as well after adding the egg, probably because all the ingredients were cold - but I let the mixture sit in the fridge for a few hours, made into balls as best I could, then froze for a few minutes to get them solid. I actually baked mine and it worked well. I loved using the little cubes of cheese inside!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      This recipe is a great start. I have used it several times. *Note to emilyering. Cook your rice until sticky and if after you put the ingredients together and the rice is still crumbly add a bit of water until it is sticky. Also, make sure your oil is really hot. I wish you luck!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Excellent recipe, a keeper. I have been trying to find a recipe for several months for these since having them as an appetizer at a local restaurant. This is the one and it will be one of the very few items that get fried in our house. I will be sharing this recipe with several others who were searching as well. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I think I'm not a good fryer, because I had a hard time with these. They crumbled in the pan, and were oily. I would love to figure out a way to bake these instead. I will say, though, that I made them for our NYE party and they got rave reviews. The taste was great...my lack of frying skills were to blame. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      These are very good. I added shredded mozzarella to the rice mix. Next time I will cut back on the basil a bit... it was a little over powering. I think you could jazz these up with a little bit of chili powder or paprika mixed into the bread crumbs. I also noticed that the balls didn't hold up very well. Any tips?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      what a great way to use up leftovers! I made these the other day and they were so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Sounds like a winner! My Roman (ex-)mother-in-law taught me how to make something similar; cooked rice, mixed with leftover tomato sauce, made into a ball, mozzarella cube pushed inside, rolled in crumbs, fried. They're called Suppli a la Telefono, because when you break them apart while hot, the mozzarella strings look like telephone wires! Delicious! This version might make them more versatile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      Great Recipe. Fast and easy. Served with sauce, excellent! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      We loved these. Served it with pasta sauce and they were perfect. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Awesome! Easy to make, and delicious. I had to roll them around in oil though, but that was just me. I didnt want to waste all of my dorm kitchens oil! My dorm mates begged me for this recipe. :) I also substituted mozzarella with cheddar, and used cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs (it was all I had), but they still turned out tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      Wow. These were very very good. Great with marinara. I didn't have mozzarella and its a good thing I didn't, I would have eaten them all at once. Thanks for posting. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      10 stars! I would leave out the salt added to the low sodium chicken broth next time because if your a cheese lover like me you'll add extra cheese and there will be no need. I did'nt let mine chill, I just rolled them in flour first, then dipped them in the egg mixture then to Italian breadcrumbs. I also added tiny pieces of ham.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Loved this recipe but added a few ingredients. Pettite peas, chopped mushrooms, chopped onions, and some oregano. Served them up as a side dish with some pizza sauce. Went great with my sausage & peppers, italian salad and garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      I did just a few things differently that you did Julesong. Like I used 1/2 cup of white wine and 1 3/4 cups chicken broth for the rice, only added 1/4 teaspoon salt to the broth (thanks to slickchick advising that they were a little to salty for some), used romano cheese because I didn't have parmesan, and put a piece of swiss in the center of them instead of mozzarelle. They came out fabulous! My DH loved them too. They were an appetizer for a lovely Italian dinner I made us to celebrate me getting promoted at my job. I couldn't have asked for a better day. :) Good work, good rewards, and great food that is how I like to live! lol. Well anyway, this was an excellant recipe that will be enjoyed probably many more times in my home. Thanx a bunch for it! Keep posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      Delicious, I had some left over chicken flavored Rice-A-Roni and made this recipe with it. I did not add the mozzarella cheese but I bet that would be delicious. I served with some marina sauce and they were gobbled up. Thank You for the great recipe for using up left over rice or Rice-A-Roni for that matter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Rice Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (1514 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.1
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    75%
    Total Fat 23.2 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 20.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 159.2 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites