Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Jalapeno Popper Wonton Puffs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jalapeno Popper Wonton Puffs

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2010

      These jalapeno poppers are awesome. I added some crumbled bacon bits and sprayed each one with olive oil spray and baked them in the oven until golden brown at 350 versus frying them in oil. They turned out great and they were the hit of my party. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      these were a fantastic addition to my super bowl menu! the only change i made was to use puff pastry instead of wontons (i didn't want to be working the deep fryer during my party-plus the smell of the deep fryer can be offensive! so i guess technically they still were jalapeno popper puffs!) this worked out great because i was able to make these up ahead of time and freeze. then time of party all i had to do was brush with a little egg wash and bake!! thanks for a winner reicpe carol! everyone loved these!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      I cooked these in my deep fryer and served with Bronco Berry Sauce by Todd Wilbur for Arby's Jalapeno Poppers Bronco Berry Sauce (Dip) - for Arby's Jalapeno Poppers (with the best substitutions availible in my kitchen). These are wonderful! This was my first attempt at jalapeno poppers and I will never have the desire to make them any other way! Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      These are wonderful! Great for satisfying naughty cravings. I didn't even dip them in anything because they were sooo good. I subbed fat free cream cheese and tried baking half of them based on some other recipes I saw. Word to the wise... DO NOT BAKE. Wontons seem to get chewy in the oven despite their crispy look. I regret not frying the whole batch. Thanks for all of your amazing recipes kitten!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      OK, Kitten, another winner! I so enjoyed this, as I love poppers, but not the preparation of them. I reduced the recipe by half, and used egg roll wrappers, as I am lazy :-) and it made 10 medium sized egg rolls. I also skipped the green onions, as I don't love onion, but may try a few like that for DH next time. I served them with some hot jalapeno pepper jelly, as a dipping sauce. HOT and delicious! Thanks for sharing, Kittencal! I'll make these again, and soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      AWESOME!!! I got sooooo many complements about this recipe my friends father even told me he heard I made amazing jalapeno peppers for a party!! -I followed the direction, did not change anything -I did use a damp cloth to cover the wontons (good call!) -I sealed the edges by brushing the edges with a beaten egg and pushing down making sure they were sealed!! AGAIN!! great recipe..love the fact that its not heavily breaded

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      Excellent puffs! I used fresh jalapenos (never tried canned before) minus the seeds and served these with ranch dressing. I was much more successful making these with the wonton wrappers than I was trying to stuff peppers the "traditional" way, but I'm a bit challenged that way. ;) Just a note: to facilitate the placing of the filling, first spoon it all into a zip lock bag, seal, cut about a 1" piece off a bottom corner and squeeze out the filling onto the wrapper. Thanks for another winner, Kitten! (FYI: I'm no longer able to use the mail features here. Try sandi[at]my.foodweb.com) Love ya!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      The only change I made was to use fresh jalapenos, because my husband truly dislikes canned one. This is an excellent recipe and easy to make. To keep the wonton wrappers soft, treat them like phyllo, keep covered with a damp towel or damp paper towels.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      Delicious!!! I added some crumbled bacon to the mix and pipped the mix into mini phyllo cups and baked for 15-20 minutes. They were a hit, no leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      My wife told me to never make these again which is code for make very often.

      If you have the oil on high ensure you only leave in for 39 seconds or they look like dooky

      Don't change the recipe.

      Nearly every review on food.com talks about how awesome the dish was but how they made it ten times better. Save that for Facebook.

      Cheers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      I made a bunch of appetizers for the Super Bowl game, and these were my absolute favorite. I have never made anything with wonton wrappers before, but they were so easy to make. They fried up to a golden brown. We served them with Sweet/Sour sauce. Next time I am going to throw in some crab meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      These are really good, but of course, its Kitten's recipe!! I rolled them in wonton skins using the 1 t and rolled them the way alligirl's pic shows. I used the entire pkg of skins, it was the perfect amount. I did add an extra 1/2 cup of monterey jack tho and i chopped the jalepenos up fine. I had a little extra and made a sandwich with it, very reminescent of pimento cheese but spicy!! yum! I have rolled them and put them in the freezer to fry up on Thanksgiving. I will let them thaw a bit on the counter before frying. I did fry up a couple before going in the freezer...omg. Let them cool a few minutes before serving, they ooze...:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      does anyone else think that 1 teaspoon of the cream cheese mixture is wayyy to small for 1 wonton? I'm thinking at least 1 tbsp... but more like 1-2 tbsp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      These are good, but kinda a pain to put together. I would definitely suggest sprinkling with salt after they come out of the oil for more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Just got done making them. Wonderful. I used a purple onion instead of the green onions, just because I had no green onions. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      These are so fabulous and really easy! I served them with ranch dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Pretty tasty snacks! I subbed mozzarella for the monterey jack, and used minced red onion instead of the scallions. The outside was super crispy, with a creamy, oozy filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      I made these for Thanksgiving day and they were a huge hit! We dipped them in Chipotle Mayonnaise! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

    • on September 28, 2009

      These are a great appetizer and I will make again for sure! Next time, I will most certainly kick up the heat with fresh jalapenos and then for a dipping sauce will use Sweet Red Chili Sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jalapeno Popper Wonton Puffs

    Serving Size: 1 (122 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 685.4
     
    Calories from Fat 594
    86%
    Total Fat 66.0 g
    101%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 26.0 mg
    8%
    Sodium 263.0 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites