Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Japanese Crispy Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Crispy Chicken

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2011

      Love this recipe followed it exactly and my husband who hates dark meat loved this he could not belive that it was not chicken breast!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      This recipe is good. I'm new at deep-frying so I decided to only fry two thighs and broil the other parts of a whole chicken. The broiled chicken turned out fine, I just might suggest increasing the sake,soy, and sugar (since I'm not a big fan of the balsamic flavor). However, the fried thighs were a mess (this may be because I don't have a temperature controlled deep-fryer and the thighs were skinless). They were charred and burned because the inside wasn't cooking (so I had to cut them to allow the oil to reach the inside). I would suggest frying boneless bite-size pieces of chicken instead of whole thighs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This was LOVED by all my children. I used chicken breast, but other than that, followed the recipe faithfully. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      Very delicious, I had a mix of chicken thighs, legs and wings so I used them all absolutely wonderful. I marinated mine for the day not just the 30 min's they had a wonderful flavour. I also did the same as another chef and boiled the marinade added some cornflour to thicken and served as a dipping sauce, Yum Yum. My son who is not keen on chicken with the bone stil in asked for seconds. I might try making this again with chicken breasts next time like a couple of others have done. Very good will definitely be making again thanks for posting Tomoko. There is nothing like a recipe that is quick and easy to do and also tastes great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I am going to say it, this is the best fried chicken I have ever eaten, much less made! I ended up marinating it overnight (the chicken wasn't defrosted), but otherwise made as the recipe states. I can't really describe why it is so delicious. The flavors just blend together so well. All three of my boys agree, with my 16 month old, saying "Mm MMM!" with his mouth full of chicken. :) Thank you so much for posting this wondeful wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      very nice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      Very easy & very yummy, the skin was crispy & the chicken was moist! Quick tip - fry the chicken slowly.. that is leave the chicken there for a good while & then turn over. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      We absolutely loved this chicken ! The flavors were well balanced and I might try to make this again using chicken breast. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2005

      oh my goodness this was such a wounderful dish the only thing i added was a mango chutney dipping sauce and it was to die for. thanks for the great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      Great recipe! I did it a little differently, but I still gave it 5 stars because I did make the marinade exactly as the recipe said. I didn't have thighs, so I used boneless skinless breast cut into bite sized pieces, cornstarched them, and fried them. Then I boiled the leftover marinade and added some cornstarch as a dipping sauce. Absolutely wonderful! Next time I will try the grill idea suggested by someone else, to make them healthier. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2004

      I fully intended to make this dish as Tomoko wrote the recipe (dusted with cornstarch and fried in oil). However, the day turned unbearably hot on us and I couldn't bear to heat up the kitchen with hot oil so I grilled the thighs outdoors, turning and basting with the marinade. They were delicious! I'll definitely cook them the 'real' way as soon as our weather cools off! Thanks for this recipe Tomoko!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2004

      I really liked this recipe. I was at first skepictal about the cornstarch and sake but it was really really good, next time I am going to try with breast. I like white meat hubby likes dark so I tried with thighs. This is going to be a regular in my cooking repretoire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Crispy Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 696.2
     
    Calories from Fat 319
    45%
    Total Fat 35.5 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 157.9 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1660.3 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 16.6 g
    66%
    Protein 35.7 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes