10 Reviews

I had never made karage with any ginger in it. It was a nice change of pace. A tip we use at the resturaunt is to soak the chicken in water for about 10 minutes and then pat dry before marinating. This allows the marinade to soak deeper into the meat and gives more flavor.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David43515 March 10, 2007

Fantastic flavor! I used chicken breasts which had been pounded to within an inch of their lives and they really soaked up the marinade! I grate the ginger by keeping the root in the freezer at all times and then grating it while frozen on my Microplane zester. I used saki and tamari sauce. I don't like to deep fry so I just shallow-fried the chicken, and we loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj March 14, 2007

A resounding 5 stars for taste and ease in preparation. Anytime my 4 kids unanimously agree on a dish, it stays in my permanent recipe files. I used skinless breasts instead of thighs, cut them up into nugget sized pieces, and used chinese rice wine instead of sake. I added a little bit of sugar for extra flavor. Yummy! Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids October 31, 2006

We loved this chicken flower. It was quick and easy to make with dazzling results. The chicken didn't turn a golden brown, could be because I used a really thick dark soya sauce, it didn't look too appealing but the flavor was amazing. I garnished with coarse salt and chopped green onions. The chicken was crisp and tender, perfectly cooked. Thanks for sharing this dish, which has gone into my keeperbox.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 12, 2011

Was very good!!! I liked that it was b/s thighs rather than breasts, our family prefers the thighs. Made as directed and added about 1 Tbs flour to the cornflour mix. Paired with Fried Rice #8594. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag November 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH December 02, 2009

Great chicken. I like Japanese food, but do not have a great deal of experience cooking it. This is simple to do and has a nice flavor. Served with marinated cucumbers and steamed rice, this made a great Japanese dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheynath September 02, 2009

This recipe was included in Book#228608. May 23, 2008 -- We loved this chicken! I marinated it for about 8 hours and deep-fried it. After frying the first batch, I added a little bit of flour to the cornstarch coating just to make the crust crispier (that's just a personal preference). Both ways, though, the chicken was superb. This is a great recipe and marinade and we really enjoyed it, Chef floWerl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester January 30, 2009

I love Japanese, too! Scaled these down to 2 servings for dinner.The marinade is simple and I marinated it for a day and the results were great! It's crispy and I served it with stir fried cabbage as that's what they usually serve in Japanese restaurants. Ah, Kara-ages are just so good! After I took 2 bites, DH took the whole platter! Thanks, Chef Flower! Made for WZT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma June 04, 2008

This is quite good. I used 2 chicken thighs with the bone in. I skinned the thighs before marinating them. I marinated them overnight to get more flavor. This was an easy recipe to make. I fried mine in some oil in a skillet instead of deep frying them. I think the results would be the same. I will make this recipe again. Thanks for a great recipe Flower!! Made for the Edition 3 Make my recipe game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof December 11, 2007

I had a packet of 14 skinless boneless (1.1k and ended up with about 750grams of meat) thighs so doubled marinade and would have have used nearly 1 cup of cornflour. I was originally going to use this as an appertiser (with some different dipping sauces) but it didn't happen but I believe it would be perfect in this situation and be extremely well recieved. Overall enjoyed but I think I will use breast meat in future. Thank you Chef floWer. Made for Tag Swap #2.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat March 21, 2007
Kara-Age - Japanese Style Fried Chicken