Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Kara-Age - Japanese Style Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kara-Age - Japanese Style Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2007

      I had never made karage with any ginger in it. It was a nice change of pace. A tip we use at the resturaunt is to soak the chicken in water for about 10 minutes and then pat dry before marinating. This allows the marinade to soak deeper into the meat and gives more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      Fantastic flavor! I used chicken breasts which had been pounded to within an inch of their lives and they really soaked up the marinade! I grate the ginger by keeping the root in the freezer at all times and then grating it while frozen on my Microplane zester. I used saki and tamari sauce. I don't like to deep fry so I just shallow-fried the chicken, and we loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      A resounding 5 stars for taste and ease in preparation. Anytime my 4 kids unanimously agree on a dish, it stays in my permanent recipe files. I used skinless breasts instead of thighs, cut them up into nugget sized pieces, and used chinese rice wine instead of sake. I added a little bit of sugar for extra flavor. Yummy! Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      We loved this chicken flower. It was quick and easy to make with dazzling results. The chicken didn't turn a golden brown, could be because I used a really thick dark soya sauce, it didn't look too appealing but the flavor was amazing. I garnished with coarse salt and chopped green onions. The chicken was crisp and tender, perfectly cooked. Thanks for sharing this dish, which has gone into my keeperbox.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      Was very good!!! I liked that it was b/s thighs rather than breasts, our family prefers the thighs. Made as directed and added about 1 Tbs flour to the cornflour mix. Paired with Fried Rice #8594. Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag November 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Great chicken. I like Japanese food, but do not have a great deal of experience cooking it. This is simple to do and has a nice flavor. Served with marinated cucumbers and steamed rice, this made a great Japanese dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      This recipe was included in Book#228608. May 23, 2008 -- We loved this chicken! I marinated it for about 8 hours and deep-fried it. After frying the first batch, I added a little bit of flour to the cornstarch coating just to make the crust crispier (that's just a personal preference). Both ways, though, the chicken was superb. This is a great recipe and marinade and we really enjoyed it, Chef floWerl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      I love Japanese, too! Scaled these down to 2 servings for dinner.The marinade is simple and I marinated it for a day and the results were great! It's crispy and I served it with stir fried cabbage as that's what they usually serve in Japanese restaurants. Ah, Kara-ages are just so good! After I took 2 bites, DH took the whole platter! Thanks, Chef Flower! Made for WZT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      This is quite good. I used 2 chicken thighs with the bone in. I skinned the thighs before marinating them. I marinated them overnight to get more flavor. This was an easy recipe to make. I fried mine in some oil in a skillet instead of deep frying them. I think the results would be the same. I will make this recipe again. Thanks for a great recipe Flower!! Made for the Edition 3 Make my recipe game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      I had a packet of 14 skinless boneless (1.1k and ended up with about 750grams of meat) thighs so doubled marinade and would have have used nearly 1 cup of cornflour. I was originally going to use this as an appertiser (with some different dipping sauces) but it didn't happen but I believe it would be perfect in this situation and be extremely well recieved. Overall enjoyed but I think I will use breast meat in future. Thank you Chef floWer. Made for Tag Swap #2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kara-Age - Japanese Style Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 489.7
     
    Calories from Fat 264
    53%
    Total Fat 29.3 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 157.9 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1151.0 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 35.6 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes