Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Karaage-Japanese Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Karaage-Japanese Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2007

      oh man this is delicious. this is going straight to my favorites folder. i sub. mirin for sake since that's all i had...threw cornstarch INTO the marinating chicken just right before frying and did add 1 clove of garlic (grated). marinated it for 7-8 hours and delicioius. i also ended up using 1 pound of thinly sliced chicken breasts since that's all i had in the freezer and cut it up into bite size pieces. also seasoned it w/ salt and pepper right after coming out of the deep fryer. whole family loved it. thanks sooo much for sharing such a wonderful recipe! truly one of my fav recipes that i found on this site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      I made my friend chicken karage and she found this recipe on line and asked me if this is how I made it. Basically its the same. But I add two cloves of garlic grated (tastes really good) and salt and pepper to taste. I also use potato starch instead of corn starch. I also mix the potato starch in with the marinating chicken right before frying. That's how my Japanese mother taught me to make it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      I am always trying chicken prepared different ways and I must give this high marks for being light, crisp, and having a nice subtle taste that was different than plain fried chicken. Because I have a very short time to prepare dinner once I get home from work, I went ahead and put whole chicken breasts in the marinade in the morning. I did not deep fry and I am sure this took away from how authentic it was but pan frying turned out a nice result. Out of curiosity I looked at other Karage recipes, it looked like most of them called for a thick batter. Maybe I'll try it that way one of these days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      I lived in Japan for two years and loved their fried chicken. This wasn't it. I found it okay, but won't make it again. I found that it didn't have a lot of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      UNBELIEVABLE......We all loved this chicken. The boys ate every piece i made. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      I add some garlic too. Just reviewing this recipe made me hungry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Yummy and so different from the usual!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      FYI, the correct spelling is KARAAGE, yes, with two "a's". Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Made this last night and my kids inhaled it. I used turkey breast since I don't each much chicken. I also used sherry instead of sake, since I always substitute it in recipies that call for sake or mirin. Very good. Next time I will make some kindof sauce for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      Mmmm yummy! I so love karaages! Some of them I made with alot of cornstarch and some just as in the recipe. I like them both and the ginger wasn't overpowering either but instead enhanced the taste of the karaage. The marinade was quick to mix and the chicken's so crispy on the outside and yet so tender inside. DH who's not a fan of all the marinade ingredients ended up liking this! Thank you very much for this quick but delicious recipe, JustJanS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

    • on November 18, 2005

      In general I don't much like fried foods, but this was just delicious!! Definitely one of tastier things I've found to do with Chicken. Kudos!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      Very yummmy! This dish was easy and fast to make. The taste turned out very good! My husband said it taste exactly like the ones he had in Japan! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      We hosted a Japanese dinner party and our guests really enjoyed the chicken Karage, my daughter and I tripled the recipe and marinated the chicken for a couple of hours, we also fried it ahead of time and served it at room temperature. No leftovers drat! I guess I'll just have to make more. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2002

      YUM! this is so good! Another recipe I would suggest doubling because it is just so good, I now have a bottle of sake that I would never drink so, I will just have to keep making these! darn!! Oh and yes, my kids really enjoyed these too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Karaage-Japanese Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (176 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 231.7
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    22%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 124.5 mg
    41%
    Sodium 632.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 30.4 g
    60%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger juice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites