Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Katsudon (Japanese Dish) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Katsudon (Japanese Dish)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2011

      Mine didn't turn out very presentable but it was soo yummy! My whole family loved it. Definitely gonna make this dish again. Thanks for one genuine Japanese recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      this was very good! family absolutely loved it. although i have another favorite katsudon recipe on this site this was still delicious too! thank you for sharing! great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Loved this which is not all that surprising seeing as I love rice bowls! Wonderful served over rice. I did a scaled down version using pork chops. With kumquats and dashi not readily available I made using lemons in the marinade and broth in place of the dashi stock with great results. I like options too - will be giving chicken a go next time around. Thank you and thank your sister for sharing. Adding another of your recipes to my favorites cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      We really enjoyed this dish and the directions were spot on. We used (for the choice ingredients) chicken, lemons, and rice wine. We did the egg differently and just scrambled them omitting the leeks and the stock/water and served it as a side with the chicken. The flavor of this dish is great! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      Delicious donburi! I had trouble cooking the tankatsu in the broth with the egg - it fell apart and didn't look very nice. So, for the rest I just cooked the egg in the broth, set it on top of the pork and sliced it. I'm sure it can be cooked like you said with practice - I just didn't have enough to practice with :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      This is a first time I ever used marinated pork for making tonkatsu, but it worked out great especially for lean and flavorless pork we usually find in the US. Used Meyer's lemon from the garden for kumquat. I also added enoki mushrooms along with onion and negi (thick scallion) to the sauce. I topped the rice with thinly sliced cabbage and piled on tonkatsu and the sauce. Thank you Pneuma for posting this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      This was great. I used leftover Tonkatsu from night before from a different recipe, so didn't use that part of this recipe. Reduced it for two. Made a couple changes based on ingredients on hand. Had to leave out leeks because didn't have them. Also used 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 water instead of dashi stock. Turned out great even with these alterations. And very easy and quick lunch for our leftover Tonkatsu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Oh I love this dish!! Kumquats are not really easy to find here in Washington but I did manage it and what a major difference in the dish. I overnighted the marinade and it made the pork oh so delicious. Wish I had a photo to contribute to show how great this dish came out!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Katsudon (Japanese Dish)

    Serving Size: 1 (493 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 887.3
     
    Calories from Fat 416
    46%
    Total Fat 46.2 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 342.0 mg
    113%
    Sodium 1456.5 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.4 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 44.2 g
    88%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dashi stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites