24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good on oven baked chicken. I made a mix without the flour so it can be stored and used as needed, adding it to flour later. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanT February 02, 2014

I am so glad I cut the salt in half. I used one tablespoon, and it was salty enough. I didn't have any sweet basil, so I used a tsp of rosemary instead. I also ground the thyme, oregano, and rosemary in a spice mill. I used dried ground ginger, since it wasn't specified to be dried or fresh. I skimped a bit on the flour, so maybe 1 and 1/2 cups. I also added some sour cream to the eggs, to try to thicken it up a bit. I thought it was pretty ok tasting. I don't think it ever met KFC before though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shu Shu August 17, 2009

We tried this recipe. We didn't use sweet basil. We thought this was too salty and didn't taste like KFC at all. We did double bread it so that may have made the seasonings too over powering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrumans March 26, 2009

No, this wasn't EXACTLY like KFC but we've tried a lot of the clones & this by far is our favorite. I chose this one tonight because it doesn't require MSG, pre-packaged spice mixes or dry soup mixes. We fried bite-sized pieces of chicken in canola oil, in the deep fryer for 3 minutes each batch, & they were perfectly cooked. Not soggy or greasy. We loved the ginger in this recipe. I also made dipping sauces to use with the two flavors of chicken but the chicken coated in this recipe needed no sauce at all. Thanks for sharing, Kat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** February 22, 2009

This Recipe tastes great! Just like KFC! I crave it all the time now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifejennife3065 July 30, 2008

This chicken would have gotten five stars, had it tasted exactly like Kentucky Fried Chicken (as the name implies). However, I cannot say that I was disappointed because, although it wasn't the real thing, this chicken fried and baked up quite beautifully. Nice golden brown color, perfect crispness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bullscreeker May 14, 2007

This recipe was o.k. It didn't taste like Kentucky Fried Chicken. The chicken fried up very nice in color. Taste was a little bland. I will use it in the future with a little twinking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiestreasure August 23, 2006

Very good. My chicken turned out very well in the oven; it's always a problem to get it cooked to my doneness in the skillet without burning. This is also excellent on cube steak; "chicken fried steak". A keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peglv October 26, 2003

This was a great recipe,I thought it as going to be a pain to fry and Bake,but it was no trouble at all,and the spices were just perfect. Thanks, Darlene Summers

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers July 10, 2003

This was easy to make and had good flavor. I'm going to try it on chiken fingers and pork chops. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robin W May 27, 2003
Kentucky Fried Chicken Seasoning Mix