Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / KFC Potato Wedges Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    KFC Potato Wedges

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2009

      Absolutely fabulous, I just made them and they were fantastic, however I did make some slight adjustments, because I read the reviews and everyone said they were bland so I substistuted Lawry's in place of the regular salt and garlic salt instead of the powder and omitted the msg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I've never had the potato wedges at KFC so I can't speak to that, but this was a tasty side dish instead of plain old french fries. I boiled the potatoes for about 10 minutes to help with the cooking. I still fried them twice though. I thought that the recipe called for too much salt, but I followed it anyway. I was wrong. The seasonings were great the way they were. I liked that the outsides were crispy but the insides were tender. This has gone in the "Must Cook Again" file. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      Turned out great but I did use seasoned salt and garlic salt then before second fry, sprinkled with cajun seasoning. Loved them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      With a name like "KFC" I knew I had to try these!!! However, I don't think they taste like KFC Potato Wedges, they are similar though. They really crisped and turned a nice golden brown with the 2nd cooking. I think this is a wonderful recipe, but it needs a little tweaking. I didn't find them to be very flavorful. I will add more seasonings next time and play around with different flavors! It's a little time consuming but I definitely like the finished product!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Fantastic! As I don't use msg, I upped the garlic powder to 1 ts and added some 1/2 ts cayenne. Not bland at all.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      This is a definite keeper in our family. It was so easy to do and they turned out nice and crispy. I added a dash of cayenne pepper in the flour mixture for some zip.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      try BAKING them at 450 for 25 + minutes. they are close to the same, but a healthier snack. skip all the ingredients, just use potatoes, but smaller wedges and spices, brush with olive oil and bake

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      These were nice. I did alter the recipe, as I thought I'd never taste the spices with the quantities given. So I increased the paprika to 1 tablespoon, and the garlic powder to about 1 1/2 tablespoons. Cut the salt down to 1 tablespoon, omitted the MSG, and added a bit more pepper. Fyred them in the pan 3 minutes each side, and placed them on an oven tray to finish off in the oven when it was dinner time. Kids loved them, and had googly eyes for them all day while they sat on the oven tray waiting tto go into the oven! Thank you for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2003

      These were quite good and had a restaurant taste. The seasonings seemed, to me, very similar indeed to Kentucky Fried Chicken's spicy coating on their wedges. I did change one thing... instead of frying twice, I simply blanched my cut potatoes in water until just barely tender and rained them well before coating in the seasoning. I doubt that this made any difference in the final product... it was just what I am used to doing instead of frying twice. This was a tasty recipe!! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2014

      Made these the other day for my grand kids all 6 of them and they raved while they ravaged it was great . I received another request this morning for the sme these are easy and devious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      OK, I just made this recipe and it turned out wonderfully! Yes, the egg wash in the recipe is thin, but it still works perfectly. I agree with the others that the salt disappears into the flavor, so, you do need more. I pretty much just used a lot of salt, black pepper and cajun seasoning. My family is head over heels about these. Best recipe I have found in a while. 3 mins cook/1 min drain/5 mins cook in my deep fryer turned out perfectly and cooked all the way through. Thanks to whomever presented this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      No something I would make again. Potatoes didn't cook, not seasoned enough. I didn't use msg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      These were so awesome. My husband LOVED them, as did I. I didn't use msg though, and I added extra paprika. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      It's a little work but so worth it! I love KFC's wedges and these were hard to tell apart. The salt was a little too light for my batch, but others are right, you need the salt so don't skimp. Thanks for a great keeper for my collection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      These were good! I remember making them before with the full amount of salt and they were much too salty...even for a couple of salt freaks like me and my husband. This time I used lite salt and cut the amount back to half. That change made them just right!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2007

      These were so good, and gobbled up by my entire family. It makes a HUGE batch. I did not double fry mine, but I think my oil was high. I did use vegetable oil instead of shortening. I also subbed chili powder for the paprika, since I was out. Don't be afraid of the salt. If you typically salt your fries, the salt amount here will be good for you. Thanks for a great side dish that we will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      I have a question. Would you fry these potatoes in a pan or deep fry them? Email me at shpgator@gmail.com Thanks,.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Way too salty! You might want to reduce the salt in half. I also forgot to fry it twice, so it got to be a little undercooked :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2006

      Hey, these do taste alot like the KFC potato wedges! I used smaller potatoes so reduced the second cooking time just a bit. We had these with ketchup. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2004

      OMG these were so good they reminded me of the jojos I used to get at Shakeys pizza when I was little. I also didnt fry them twice but blanced them for about a hour before frying. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for KFC Potato Wedges

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 321.0
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    11%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 55.0 mg
    18%
    Sodium 3543.6 mg
    147%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.5 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    msg


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites