23 Reviews

5-star for sure! The light, crispy batter is seasoned perfectly. For those having issues with the batter falling off ... I put the rings in a bag of plain flour and shook to dust them, then the batter, then the seasoned flour. No problem with anything falling off then. I also cut the onions and put them in the fridge to 'sweat' for a few hours ... that may help with the batter sticking too. If you like onion rings, be sure to try these.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary K. W. September 11, 2011

21 gun salute is in order! My DH is simply said, mad about onion rings, so he is always ordering them and for the most part he is disappointed after getting them. So this recipe succeeded in satisfying his onion ring addiction! He just absoutely loved them! I divided the recipe in half as I only had one vadalia onion. The breading was perfectly seasoned and light and airy with the right amount of crunch. This is definitely going in my "Keepers" cookbook. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! Made for Veg 'n Swap tag Feb. 2012.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo March 03, 2012

Theses are simply amazing! We had them with deep fried shrimp, fried chicken, and a nice salad. Using the Old Bay and the red hot sauce really gave it a flavor like onion rings in a nice restaurant. I never would have thought about adding that. The only thing I would change is maybe putting them in a 175 degree oven. The first ones in the oven got a little dehydrated or maybe I just need to be quicker! Any way thanks for posting and these have become the only onion rings that I'll make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candy bar January 18, 2015

These are wonderful! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wisconsinone June 19, 2010

I love the flavor of these onion rings. I did soak the onion rings in the buttermilk overnight. I do have some of the coating fall off but the flavor is great! I guess I also need to remember these are not battered but dusted with the flour/corn meal mixture! Again the flavor is great and will be making again!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lsustacy February 14, 2010

OMG! If you like onion rings these are absolutly the best. I made them for my husband and he just raved about them. They have a wonderful flavor. I'm hooked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shovind December 18, 2009

This recipe was included in Book#228608. December 8, 2008 -- I had never made onion rings before, and my husband just raved about these!!! The only thing I did differently was to deep fry them. They're MUCH better than the ones we've ordered at restaurants. AWESOME! (I'm updating my review to add that we've had these once a month for about the last year and we never tire of them. I deep fry two batches, keeping them warm in the oven until serving.) This recipe is the BEST!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester January 30, 2009

Cut my onions very thin and only battered one side of the onion to make an onion haystack, my kids loved them! Ate some with BBQ sauce and used the rest as a topper for our burgers. Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Esquiveltribe January 03, 2009

These were great!!! I didn't have any Old Bay but I added a bit of Cajun Spice. They turned out great and I'll definately use this recipe again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baumer64 August 06, 2008

I have never been an onion ring expert but these were quite good and I didn't even use the OLD BAY seasoning, but reading the other reviews I wish I had used it. One hint: don't let the batter sit in the onion. As soon as you are done dipping, drop it in the oil. That way it sticks. I let the batter sit on the onions for the first batch and the batter came right off. Don't ask me why this works but it does. This recipe is a keeper for sure. Thanks and God Bless!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chemonurse93 July 05, 2008
Kick A%% Fried Onion Rings