Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Kick A%% Fried Onion Rings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kick A%% Fried Onion Rings

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2011

      5-star for sure! The light, crispy batter is seasoned perfectly. For those having issues with the batter falling off ... I put the rings in a bag of plain flour and shook to dust them, then the batter, then the seasoned flour. No problem with anything falling off then. I also cut the onions and put them in the fridge to 'sweat' for a few hours ... that may help with the batter sticking too. If you like onion rings, be sure to try these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      21 gun salute is in order! My DH is simply said, mad about onion rings, so he is always ordering them and for the most part he is disappointed after getting them. So this recipe succeeded in satisfying his onion ring addiction! He just absoutely loved them! I divided the recipe in half as I only had one vadalia onion. The breading was perfectly seasoned and light and airy with the right amount of crunch. This is definitely going in my "Keepers" cookbook. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! Made for Veg 'n Swap tag Feb. 2012.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      These are wonderful! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      I love the flavor of these onion rings. I did soak the onion rings in the buttermilk overnight. I do have some of the coating fall off but the flavor is great! I guess I also need to remember these are not battered but dusted with the flour/corn meal mixture! Again the flavor is great and will be making again!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      OMG! If you like onion rings these are absolutly the best. I made them for my husband and he just raved about them. They have a wonderful flavor. I'm hooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      This recipe was included in Book#228608. December 8, 2008 -- I had never made onion rings before, and my husband just raved about these!!! The only thing I did differently was to deep fry them. They're MUCH better than the ones we've ordered at restaurants. AWESOME! (I'm updating my review to add that we've had these once a month for about the last year and we never tire of them. I deep fry two batches, keeping them warm in the oven until serving.) This recipe is the BEST!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Cut my onions very thin and only battered one side of the onion to make an onion haystack, my kids loved them! Ate some with BBQ sauce and used the rest as a topper for our burgers. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      These were great!!! I didn't have any Old Bay but I added a bit of Cajun Spice. They turned out great and I'll definately use this recipe again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      I have never been an onion ring expert but these were quite good and I didn't even use the OLD BAY seasoning, but reading the other reviews I wish I had used it. One hint: don't let the batter sit in the onion. As soon as you are done dipping, drop it in the oil. That way it sticks. I let the batter sit on the onions for the first batch and the batter came right off. Don't ask me why this works but it does. This recipe is a keeper for sure. Thanks and God Bless!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      It was soooo good!!! I added some more Old Bay seasoning to give it a little more kick. I deep fried them instead of using the pan. I ate them with burgers and there weren't any left after dinner. THIS RECIPE IS DEFINITELY A KEEPER!!!! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      we loved these!!! i made up the breading mixture ahead of time and sliced my onions the day before so it went very fast once i was ready to cook. used my deep fryer and fried in 2 batches. i omitted the sugar and added old bay to the buttermilk, and added some cayenne to the batter. best onion rings ever!!! i will be making these many more times!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      I have failed to post a review of this recipe. I have made this at least once a week for the past six months. This is an outstanding onion ring recipe. Great served over steaks. I always make extra to dip in the steak sauce. Love the Old Bay seasoning. Thanks so much Rita!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      True to its name!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      This is a great and simple recipe!!! I didn't have any buttermilk so I improvised with a little half and half. They have a really great flavor and wonderful crunch to them that don't over take the onions, because after all isn't this all about the onions?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      I made these today for a football Sunday snack and wow, are they good. They are absolutely perfect. The only problem was that I kept eating them as I was making them. I love thin, crunchy onion rings and these did not disappoint. And the Old Bay seasoning added just the right amount of kick. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      Um Yum!! After spending all day in the garden I rewarded myself with a few drinks...then to ward off the munchies I made these. I halved the recipe and managed to polish them all off myself. They are delightfully crunchy with just the right amount of spice. As we don’t have Old Bay here in Australia I used Old Bay Seasoning. When transferring them to the oven I placed a cake rack over a cookie sheet...this worked great. Thanks for sharing...I'll be making these again for sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      These are the BEST rings ever! We LOVED the crunch from the cornmeal. Seasoned to perfection! Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      My first attempt at onion rings and a total success! I used the Tabasco Habanero sauce. I also added some cayenne pepper. They came out perfect and crispy and didn't need any condiments to be enjoyed :) Awesome, Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2005

      Rita, here you go again, with another awesome recipe!! These were the best onion rings I believe I have ever had! My husband loved them so much that he has asked me to make them twice this week! Now I will have to keep vidalia onions on my list to buy weekly. Thank you so much for this incredible recipe. I urge everyone to try these. Even if you don't like onions, this recipe will make you change your mind. I made these exactly as written, no changes needed whatsoever. Yum, Yum, Yum! Hugs to you, Susie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2004

      These were a sure-fire winner Rita, a killer onion ring recipe! deserves much more than 5 stars... I made this tonight to go along side of Glitter's Greek Stuffed Zucchini recipe (#90194)... The coating stuck perfectly to the rings, something that is a big problem with onion rings for me. I am so pleased with this recipe, these were absolutely wonderful! and I look forward to making it again. Thanks you so much Rita for another winner!!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kick A%% Fried Onion Rings

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 102.0
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    46%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 1.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 420.6 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes