Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Kittencal's Best Crispy Onion Rings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Best Crispy Onion Rings

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2009

      I loved how the batter stuck to these onion rings! We used panko crumbs for the bread crumbs and it gave them a good crunch. I soaked the onions in the egg/b.milk mixture for an hour. I put all of the dry ingredients in a gallon size ziploc bag, then I dropped some onions (1 batch at a time) in the bag and tossed it around. It was fast, easy and gave a great coating. Thanks for the recipe. My husband is always suggesting we make some onion rings and this was the recipe I chose...so glad I did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Everyone gave 5 stars on this recipe. I followed your recipe exactly, but I am going to have to change one thing though, and that is to make a double batch because there was not even enough to have a second helping. Thank you Kittencal. *Adding another 5 star review* I just used this recipe for deep fried Okra and it works very well. I did add in 1 T. onion powder. I'm going to stick with this dipping mixture. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      OMG!! These were fantastic!! I was a little leery about making onion rings at home but not anymore!! They were easy and the taste....oh..the taste! I used Panko bread crumbs, as suggested, and seasoning salt and only dipped once. Thank you for yet another winner Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2014

      I probably changed this recipe too much to rate it fairly but it is a great recipe. I added a few dashes of hot sauce to the milk and egg dip. I keep homemade seasoned flour on hand so due to ease I used that and added panko and cornstarch. I breaded the onions twice and used a regular yellow onion because I didn't have a sweet one on hand. With all that they were still wonderful. My family loved them. My husband was eating them before dinner was ready and was half full before his steak was ready. Thanks for another great recipe Kittencal--you never disappoint.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      This was amazing! First, I need way more batter. There wasn't nearly enough. But I only say this because I drudged the onions twice instead of once. We didn't use all of the onion (only used about half of one onion for this job) so I reached in the fridge and grabbed a pickle slice. The batter is out of this world on the pickles, too! This recipe has earned its way into my permanent collection. We'll be using it on at least a monthly, if not weekly, basis.

      And "appetizer?" Ha!! Six of these rings dipped in ranch was filling enough for dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      Absolutely love these!!! I have tried to make onion rings before and they have been a flop. These turned out with a perfect crunch and awesome taste. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      This were the best onion ring recipe that I have found thus far! I used panko bread crumbs and they were delicious! Since I don't have a deep fat fryer, I just used a saucepan and heated the oil to about 275 which let the onion cook just a little bit and it also gave the rings some extra crunch. I will most definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      I do love onion rings, & hadn't had some in quite a while, so your recipe was inviting & it made for some absolutely delicious rings ~ What a wonderful treat! Followed the recipe right on down & wouldn't change a thing! A great keeper, for sure! Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Cookbook recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      GREAT onion rings! Simple recipe... yummy results! We followed the recipe with the exception of making our own buttermilk (milk and lemon juice). Next time we'll add more seasonings to the coating mixture. We'll definitely be making this in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      Flavor was good, but breading was sort of thin. We prefer a thicker batter. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Yet another fabulous recipe from Kittencal! These were SO good! We doubled the recipe since we were preparing dinner for 7 and there wasn't a single onion ring left at the end of the meal. Even my mother in law who NEVER goes back for seconds of anything was back in the kitchen for more of these. Loved the idea of panko in the coating. I will never make my onion rings any other way again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      these were so awesome!! i let the onions marinate all day in the buttermilk/egg mixture. then dinner was a cinch! i just drained them and threw them into the bag of dry coating. (i actually meant to double dip them, but i forgot when i drained the onions!) i just used 1 onion and they fried up in 3 batches in my deep fryer. loved the flavor of these! i kept everything the same including using seasoned salt but i added 1 tsp black pepper along with 1/2 tsp cayenne. thanks for another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      These onion rings are better than any restaurant around here! Really nice and crunchy breading, but be careful these really fizz up when you fry them so don't overfill your deep fryer with oil. ;) Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      These onion rings were really good, but I prefer a lighter batter with flour and cornflour. Good if you like a change though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Wow these were awesome! My son asked if it's possible to make onion rings at home that tasted good. The answer after these was a unanimous YES!! Thanks Kitten!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      These were really really good crunchy onion rings. I have made several different ones and these are amongst the top. They are also very easy to make. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Man O Man, were these ever good! Like others, I doubled dipped. Make these now, you will get nothing but RAVES! Thanks so much for posting, Kit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      I agree kitten,whenever I see one of your recipes . I know it iwll be a great success.. I take your review advice on other recipes as well. I've never had one to fail yet.. these onion rings are the best i've eaten and dh says the same.. as always thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      Well I have come to expect nothing less than the best from you, and this is another best, Kit these are FABULOUS the very best I have ever made, I believe they are better than any restaurant, please will you open one and I will be the first in line, you have the best recipes on the net! thank you for posting all your wonderful recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Best Crispy Onion Rings

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 348.2
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    10%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 94.2 mg
    31%
    Sodium 171.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.3 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes