24 Reviews

I loved how the batter stuck to these onion rings! We used panko crumbs for the bread crumbs and it gave them a good crunch. I soaked the onions in the egg/b.milk mixture for an hour. I put all of the dry ingredients in a gallon size ziploc bag, then I dropped some onions (1 batch at a time) in the bag and tossed it around. It was fast, easy and gave a great coating. Thanks for the recipe. My husband is always suggesting we make some onion rings and this was the recipe I chose...so glad I did!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin'away May 12, 2009

Everyone gave 5 stars on this recipe. I followed your recipe exactly, but I am going to have to change one thing though, and that is to make a double batch because there was not even enough to have a second helping. Thank you Kittencal. *Adding another 5 star review* I just used this recipe for deep fried Okra and it works very well. I did add in 1 T. onion powder. I'm going to stick with this dipping mixture. Thanks again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 June 15, 2010

OMG!! These were fantastic!! I was a little leery about making onion rings at home but not anymore!! They were easy and the taste....oh..the taste! I used Panko bread crumbs, as suggested, and seasoning salt and only dipped once. Thank you for yet another winner Kitten!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydesigirl April 27, 2009

I probably changed this recipe too much to rate it fairly but it is a great recipe. I added a few dashes of hot sauce to the milk and egg dip. I keep homemade seasoned flour on hand so due to ease I used that and added panko and cornstarch. I breaded the onions twice and used a regular yellow onion because I didn't have a sweet one on hand. With all that they were still wonderful. My family loved them. My husband was eating them before dinner was ready and was half full before his steak was ready. Thanks for another great recipe Kittencal--you never disappoint.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dixie from Kansas February 24, 2014

This was amazing! First, I need way more batter. There wasn't nearly enough. But I only say this because I drudged the onions twice instead of once. We didn't use all of the onion (only used about half of one onion for this job) so I reached in the fridge and grabbed a pickle slice. The batter is out of this world on the pickles, too! This recipe has earned its way into my permanent collection. We'll be using it on at least a monthly, if not weekly, basis.

And "appetizer?" Ha!! Six of these rings dipped in ranch was filling enough for dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Natalie K February 10, 2013

Absolutely love these!!! I have tried to make onion rings before and they have been a flop. These turned out with a perfect crunch and awesome taste. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmarsh81 November 13, 2011

This were the best onion ring recipe that I have found thus far! I used panko bread crumbs and they were delicious! Since I don't have a deep fat fryer, I just used a saucepan and heated the oil to about 275 which let the onion cook just a little bit and it also gave the rings some extra crunch. I will most definitely be making these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinkflamingo5478 August 26, 2011

I do love onion rings, & hadn't had some in quite a while, so your recipe was inviting & it made for some absolutely delicious rings ~ What a wonderful treat! Followed the recipe right on down & wouldn't change a thing! A great keeper, for sure! Thanks for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Cookbook recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 23, 2011

Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bella Rachelle June 07, 2011

GREAT onion rings! Simple recipe... yummy results! We followed the recipe with the exception of making our own buttermilk (milk and lemon juice). Next time we'll add more seasonings to the coating mixture. We'll definitely be making this in the future!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ACarp March 12, 2011
Kittencal's Best Crispy Onion Rings