Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Mean Chef's Southern Fried Chicken and Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mean Chef's Southern Fried Chicken and Gravy

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2007

      Being from Kentucky, fried chicken has always been a mainstay on our table. This is the same recipe my family has used for generations with the exception of adding 1 teaspoon of paprika to the flour and using Crisco (used to use lard) to fry it in. The cook for my grandmother taught me to put 2 tablespoons of water in the hot fat towards the end of frying and immediately cover it with the lid to make sure it stayed moist. After the sputtering quits, then remove the lid to let the chicken "crisp up". This trick has always worked for me, but make sure you do not have your fat too close to the top of the skillet or it will be a mess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2004

      I followed the recipe to the letter (using salted water), and the resulting chicken was crispy on the outside, and tender and juicy on the inside. Served with mashed potatoes and gravy and steamed peas. Luscious comfort food! I thought I would miss the seasonings that I normally add--thyme, paprika and granulated onion, but no! This recipe is perfect as is. Thanks Mean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      OMG,this was the best fried chicken I've ever made. I've been trying for over 40 yrs and finally had success. My DH said that it even looks like fried chicken. I didn't have time to brine overnite, just 2 or 3 hrs, but the flavor was not just in the coating but all the way thru the chicken, crisp on the outside and juicy on the inside. Next time I will brine overnite. While making the gravy, rather then pouring off the hot oil, I used a metal measuring cup to scoop some drippings out and made gravy in a seperate sauce pan. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2004

      I made this last night. My second attempt ever at fried chicken, the first one being almost 15 years and it was disaster. But this recipe worked great. The chicken was incredibly moist inside and crunchy on the outside-just perfect! The gravy was right on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Yep, this is the one! I have removed all other recipes for fried chicken from my cookbook. Just a little bit of "spring chicken" cleaning! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Excellent fried chicken and gravy. Everyone loved it. Served with mashed potatoes and steamed corn for the perfect cold day comfort dinner. I marinated in buttermilk and hot sauce, but didn't see the note at the end about dipping in flour, then buttermilk mixture then flour again until I had already dumped the marinade all out. Oh well... It was still great. I also added the tsp of creole seasoning. Perfect! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      Good Recipe! I never knew making Gravy could be that easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      My first MeanChef recipe, although I've been reading them for awhile. This chicken came out so crispy, juicy, perfect. I used the salted water marinade, but I also added hotsauce. The gravy was the real showstopper. I have a terrible record with gravy - this one must be totally foolproof. I highly recommend this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2005

      This is exactly the way I've always made fried chicken. I was taught to prepare it this way by my little southern (Alabama) grandmother. Thanks for sharing this recipe so everyone can learn how to make "real" southern fried chicken!! It's delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      Excellent, absolutely wonderful. I cooked the chicken in a cast iron skillet and it was wonderful. The chicken was very moist and very tender. Excellent, a new addition to our "Regular" meals!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mean Chef's Southern Fried Chicken and Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (1228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1673.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1332
    79%
    Total Fat 148.0 g
    227%
    Saturated Fat 26.7 g
    133%
    Cholesterol 187.3 mg
    62%
    Sodium 2850.1 mg
    118%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 50.3 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes