Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / My Dad Swears My Sister Makes the Best Pork Chops in the World Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    My Dad Swears My Sister Makes the Best Pork Chops in the World

    Average Rating:

    64 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 64

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2013

      Just ok, but then...I am partcular about my pork chops and am often amazed at what people consider good. I'm really surprised at how many people don't know how to cook. Tip: Buttermilk marinade for 2 to 24 hours. Always amazing. These were a bit bland, but acceptable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      these were great. I did a few things different though; I used Crisco instead of oil, and I used italian style bread crumbs instead of flour, since I didn't have enough flour. I used a milk and egg mixture, dipped into crumbs with garlic powder and parsley; then fried as directed. I sprinkled the top while in the pan with garlic salt and pepper. I noticed the breading comes off if you are too rough with them while turning, or if you turn it too early. My Family loved this though, and my husband even ate the left overs in the middle of the night. GREAT!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Dad is right !!! best pork chops I have ever cooked. Did not wet them first, just double diped in the flour. Time was perfect. I think most of us cook our pork too long. Thanks to your sister and you, for a great post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      I made this recipe on 2/29/12 for the "Cooking with Herbs/Spices " Event in the Food Photo Forum, and most importantly mine and my SO's dinner. :) A couple of changes were made to the recipe that I don't think affected the finished product. First I used a couple of boneless pork loin chops that were pounded thin.Then the amount of flour was reduced by half,but the amount of seasonings were left the same.I did use a cast iron skillet,but instead of oil, Crisco was used.As the chops were frying, a bit more seasoned salt and pepper was sprinkled over the tops. With a bit of the leftover flour, a gravy was made and served over a side of rice. We both really liked the taste of the chops. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This is now my staple pork chop recipe. They are always super tasty and so easy to pull together. I use celery salt for seasoning salt but otherwise do exactly as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      This is a standard southern breading technique, not really a recipe for pork chops. The listing would be a bit light on salt, and you'll probably want more pepper while you're at it. This technique will work on any type of meat: chicken, fish, beef... If you want a more substantial breading dip the meat in an egg wash before the flour, and be sure to add the seasoning AFTER flouring (don't add the seasoning to the flour---it's wasteful and impossible to measure correctly).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      My family loves these and they are NOT greasy!!! I followed the recipe and made some of the changes that people suggested in their reviews such as double dipping them in the flour mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Very Good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      These pork chops were super tender had to cook a little longer than recipe called for But....they were bland and tasteless and I even added more season after reading the other reviews. Maybe will try double dipping and adding an egg wash next time around as there was not much breading either. We like em crunchy on the outside, and tender in the middle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      Not alot of flavor in my opinion. Will try to add more seasonings if I do make them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      This is was actually quite delicious! Nice job!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      Very Good!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      This is about as good as pork chop can get without being brined for 12-24 hours in a simple solution of water, salt, brown sugar, garlic and the herbs of your choice [I prefer sage and thyme].

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      What a good recipe. I made this for my family and they loved it. It was moist and juicy. I served it with mashed potatoes, zucchini and biscuits. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      Delicious ....special thanks to your dads former mother in law....and I have found that meat at various time is or is not flavorful.... and has nothing to do with the recipe itself. Perhaps , "don't make um like they use to" applies......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      I measured all the dry ingredients exactly, and the chops had no flavor, couldn't even taste salt. I even added onion powder. They were also dry. Used 1.4 lbs of porkchops and had enuff dry mixture left for 2 more chops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      I am not much off meat eater but I will try making for them for hubby.

      I added onion powder, Mrs. Dash original seasoning, Hungarian paprika, extra pepper. Put under broiler to keep DH slim and trim. I sprayed the broiler pan with canola spray. I also sprayed a bit of canola oil on the chops to make them evenly brown.He loved them.

      I gave this recipe 4 stars because I think the sodium and calories are too high for anyone except once a year or so. Another option is make as directed but cut portions in half.


      I served them with garlic coos coos, fresh fruit, green beans, and a tossed salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2012

      I made this recipe without the salt and used a no-salt seasoning mix. I added onion powder and parsly. My family was happy with the chops. The second time I made these I got all the way to putting oil in the pan and discovered I had no oil!. I baked the chops on a cooling rack sitting in my broiler pan with the temp at 400. The chops were still nice and juicy and crispy out side. My boys haven't desided if fried or baked is better, they loved both ways. The original recipe has way to much salt in it or I would have rated it with the extra star.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      The flavor was good. I probably would have given it four stars if I had not burned one side. I think my stove burns hotter than most. Medium-high was too much for the pork chops to take. We'll be trying again with less heat. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      These were perfect! The seasoning was great and they were not greasy in the littlest bit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for My Dad Swears My Sister Makes the Best Pork Chops in the World

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 745.7
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    25%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 156.4 mg
    52%
    Sodium 1873.8 mg
    78%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.8 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 57.5 g
    115%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites