Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Natchitoches Meat Pies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Natchitoches Meat Pies

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 19, 2002

      I made these as is and they were really good, however, I doubled the recipe and had some filling left over. I used the filling as a base for a pot of chili - I only added an industrial size can of crushed tomatoes and 2 cans of beans and some chili powder and I swear it's the best chili we've ever eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      I make these every year for a Mardi Gras party, only I make about 8 dozen at a time. One of my favorite shortcuts for this is to use refrigerated pie crusts. I then place the pies on cookies sheets in the freezer and flash freeze them so that i can bake them at a later date. Oh...that's something else that I do differently....I bake them. I never have any leftovers from the parties either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      My husband and I loved these meat pies. Thank you so much for sharing....update on 3-11-07.... Fixed these again and they were equally wonderful.... Th

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      Very nice flavor. We all loved it. The pastry was a little difficult to make, but Im not into making pastry. Thank you for a great new recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      The filling mixture is good, but did not like the pastry. Will sub my pastry recipe and still do the filling. That for me will make this great. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2006

      Dude!!!!!!! These are awsome.I moved from Louisiana years ago and have been missing these more than anything.I made these by your recipe and only added more cayenne cause I like'm HOT!!! They had us licking the back of our heads. Thanks a million.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2002

      I bet these are the best. I am going to make them. I wanted a real good meat pie recipe. Thanks very much

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

    • on December 17, 2006

      Nasty toe cheese? What kind of name is that for a meat pie? My daughter almost died laughing when she saw the recipe. I had to explain that it was the name of the town where the recipe originated. Named after the nasty toe cheese Indians. Anyway, the "pastery" recipe required at least 1 cup of milk since there wasn't enough liquid to make a dough. The flavor was subtle. A 1/4 teaspoon of pepper for 2 lbs of meat? We ended up enjoying these with a bottle of Crystal Sauce. It was time consuming, but enjoyable. Will probably make them again, differently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Natchitoches Meat Pies

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 384.4
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    46%
    Total Fat 19.7 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 81.7 mg
    27%
    Sodium 338.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 19.5 g
    39%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    bacon fat

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes