Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Outback Bloomin' Onion Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outback Bloomin' Onion

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2012

      Have made these b/f but not using the same recipe, a tip to cutting your onion, turn onion over so that you see the root of the onion (AFTER cutting the top of the onion off so you have a flat surface) now cut onion into petals, making slices around the onion making sure you cut to the bottom. Another tip in making onion "bloom" let onion sit in ice cold water for about 10-15 minutes b/f coating onion. Onion petals will separate and will be easier to coat and fry better. Hope this helps!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      Something is wrong with the proportions for the wash. 10 eggs and a gallon of milk is entirely too much for 4 onions or even 6 onions. That is wasteful. The onion part is good, but you need to trim and start soaking the onion 2-3 hours before you make the rest.
      The sauce isn't right, either. It's not the right flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      Recipe was messed up from the beginning. Left out several ingredients and instructions. Cook time was way off. Hope everyone reads reviews BEFORE they waste 2 gallons of milk and 20 eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      This rating is for the creamy chili sauce only. I was looking for the Outback style dip to go with fried zucchini. This did not taste anything like the Outback's dip. It was just okay, but I won't be making it again. Plus, the measurements here would make a TON of the stuff. I made a quarter of the recipe and still have quite a bit left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      The recipe was good but was confusing how it was written. I had to switch to another recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I'm sorry I havn't had a chance to try this yet, but I was just watching fFood Network Unwrapped, where it showed the secret behind the bloomin' onion. Aparrently, before they had the machine used for cutting them, they would begin cutting at the bottom of the onion. They would cut each "Petal" one thumbnail down and one thumbnail across. I hope this helped with the cutting dilema, and I'll be sure to try this soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      YUM! This was my first attempt at a Bloomin' onion and I had a little bit of trouble with it, although 100% my fault. First, I cut the onion too far to the base and it started to fall apart and then my fryer was too full so it overflowed a bit but other than that it was great! The flavor was all there and everyone loved it. I will definitely try to make this again and also thought I may just slice into rings and use the same batter and dipping sauce. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      Great recipe! It certainly isn't easy to make, but I was actually able to get it to bloom. You just have to be careful not to cut too deep. As suggested, I put it in ice water for 15 mins and let it bloom, then made the cuts a little deeper where needed (only vertical one way - don't criss-cross). I dipped in the seasoned flour, then the batter, then the flour again. I had to modify this to be gluten-free (will post), but the hubby absolutely loved it! For the sauce, I made Emeril's tomato chili sauce and used 1.5 times the amount suggested and doubled the cayenne pepper. Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      I have not tried this recipe. My copy of this recipe I got from National Onion Association. The recipe is slightly different. It calls for 3 c cornstarch, 2 tsp garlic salt, 6 onions-colossal. Directions are slightly different. It says to soak the cut onions in ice water for 10-15 minutes. If onion petals do not separate and bloom cut petals slightly deeper. The rest is the same. Thanks for posting. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      I didn't think that I could bloom the onion quite like outback, so I just made them into rings instead! It came out just as good too! I almost had to buy everything on the list, but it was soooooo worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      Really good!! Did it a little different. Made ours into petals instead of a bloomin onion. And I dipped them in the dry and then shook the excess flour and dipped them in the wet and then breaded them again in the dry before frying. A big hit with DH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      What a pain in the butt to make, but was REALLY good! We bought 3 of the vidalia onions (they were great, and really sweet) and after the hassle of the first (couldn't get it to seperate like they can at the Outback) we threw in the towel and made onion rings with the batter... YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2002

    • on June 02, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outback Bloomin' Onion

    Serving Size: 1 (10447 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2573.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1424
    55%
    Total Fat 158.3 g
    243%
    Saturated Fat 71.5 g
    357%
    Cholesterol 1293.6 mg
    431%
    Sodium 2247.3 mg
    93%
    Total Carbohydrate 184.9 g
    61%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    19%
    Sugars 17.6 g
    70%
    Protein 107.2 g
    214%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tomato chili sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites