14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Have made these b/f but not using the same recipe, a tip to cutting your onion, turn onion over so that you see the root of the onion (AFTER cutting the top of the onion off so you have a flat surface) now cut onion into petals, making slices around the onion making sure you cut to the bottom. Another tip in making onion "bloom" let onion sit in ice cold water for about 10-15 minutes b/f coating onion. Onion petals will separate and will be easier to coat and fry better. Hope this helps!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luv2cookinNC August 03, 2012

Something is wrong with the proportions for the wash. 10 eggs and a gallon of milk is entirely too much for 4 onions or even 6 onions. That is wasteful. The onion part is good, but you need to trim and start soaking the onion 2-3 hours before you make the rest.
The sauce isn't right, either. It's not the right flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miz Smith February 17, 2013

Recipe was messed up from the beginning. Left out several ingredients and instructions. Cook time was way off. Hope everyone reads reviews BEFORE they waste 2 gallons of milk and 20 eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shereemuchow March 20, 2013

This rating is for the creamy chili sauce only. I was looking for the Outback style dip to go with fried zucchini. This did not taste anything like the Outback's dip. It was just okay, but I won't be making it again. Plus, the measurements here would make a TON of the stuff. I made a quarter of the recipe and still have quite a bit left over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rockymtni August 02, 2010

The recipe was good but was confusing how it was written. I had to switch to another recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook July 11, 2010

I'm sorry I havn't had a chance to try this yet, but I was just watching fFood Network Unwrapped, where it showed the secret behind the bloomin' onion. Aparrently, before they had the machine used for cutting them, they would begin cutting at the bottom of the onion. They would cut each "Petal" one thumbnail down and one thumbnail across. I hope this helped with the cutting dilema, and I'll be sure to try this soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stars1012 November 10, 2008

YUM! This was my first attempt at a Bloomin' onion and I had a little bit of trouble with it, although 100% my fault. First, I cut the onion too far to the base and it started to fall apart and then my fryer was too full so it overflowed a bit but other than that it was great! The flavor was all there and everyone loved it. I will definitely try to make this again and also thought I may just slice into rings and use the same batter and dipping sauce. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle April 21, 2008

Great recipe! It certainly isn't easy to make, but I was actually able to get it to bloom. You just have to be careful not to cut too deep. As suggested, I put it in ice water for 15 mins and let it bloom, then made the cuts a little deeper where needed (only vertical one way - don't criss-cross). I dipped in the seasoned flour, then the batter, then the flour again. I had to modify this to be gluten-free (will post), but the hubby absolutely loved it! For the sauce, I made Emeril's tomato chili sauce and used 1.5 times the amount suggested and doubled the cayenne pepper. Thank you for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Elizabeth April 05, 2008

I have not tried this recipe. My copy of this recipe I got from National Onion Association. The recipe is slightly different. It calls for 3 c cornstarch, 2 tsp garlic salt, 6 onions-colossal. Directions are slightly different. It says to soak the cut onions in ice water for 10-15 minutes. If onion petals do not separate and bloom cut petals slightly deeper. The rest is the same. Thanks for posting. Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut May 07, 2007

I didn't think that I could bloom the onion quite like outback, so I just made them into rings instead! It came out just as good too! I almost had to buy everything on the list, but it was soooooo worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Couper February 11, 2006
Outback Bloomin' Onion