18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I worked for Outback for years, the blooming onion is breaded, not battered. Skip the beer, flour the onion, dip it in a milk wash, the flour it again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cb4747 August 08, 2013

of the recipe sounds right except the wet batter is completely wrong outback uses only eggs and milk for it 10 eggs per gallon if I remember correctly I worked there for about five years 2 of which I made the onions a few days a week

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
robertd88 July 13, 2013

really fluffy and crispy batter! used less than 18oz of beer. was pretty good, but will definately up the spices and salt next time, was alittle bland for us. chili sauce was good too, make it a day ahead of time is best in my opinion. thanks for a great supper side!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes February 10, 2011

These were good, but did not taste like Outback's onion at all. They were not nearly as spicy. That being said, we did like them. I cut my onions up and made these as onion petals instead of a whole onion.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy to Abby January 16, 2011

Loved it, perfect. Not a single complaint. And yes ... letting them sit in cold water seriously works wonders. I also did mushrooms (buttons) the same way the the same sauce. Sauce batter too. Equally as good. IT WAS A FRY night, can't you tell. We did wings too. I did have veggies though, it offset all the bad frying. But ... IT WAS so tasty! Thanks for an easy good very accurate recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook July 11, 2010

The sauce was SPOT ON! Tastes just like(if not BETTER) Outback's, We only used half the beer to make the batter for the onion and I doubled the flour and put some more Cannyee in it. The first batch we made like the first recipe calls for and it didnt come out well, I learned that if you double the flour and pepper and add approx 9 oz of beer it comes out better. It was hard to get the entire onion covered so next time we may just try making onion rings so it's easier. All in all this is a great recipe and I will be making this agian and agian!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RAVENSGIRLX November 11, 2009

The Bloomin Onion is very good and it is the best I had and I am giving this a five star.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eric G. December 20, 2014

I went for it this weekend for a birthday party I threw. We had steaks, a blue cheese salad and I served this bloomin' onion. It was incredible and a total hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liza at Food.com August 14, 2014

made the dipping sauce for fried mushrooms, perfect! thanks so much, a happy hive here :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~~QUEEN BEE~~ October 19, 2013

Well, this is similar to the recipe I have, but different at the same time. The Sauce is identical ingredients though. However, the Bloomin' Onion itself is different. My batter is just an egg and milk wash. The Dry ingredients you don't mix with the Wet ingredients. Also, there is MUCH more Cayenne in the Dry with a few other ingredients as well. It comes out with a 'KICK" that is JUST LIKE Outback Steakhouse!!!!!! There is WAY TOO MUCH FLOUR in this recipe; it is killing the spices which is what I want to taste with a Crispy Coating--mine has it! <br/><br/>Slicing the onion is a Challenge, but just take your time and slice carefully! It may not come out perfect, but it is dang good. If anyone wants the recipe, just let me know.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suadeblue_11835114 June 29, 2013
Outback Steakhouse Bloomin' Onion