Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Outback Steakhouse Bloomin' Onion Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Outback Steakhouse Bloomin' Onion

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 08, 2013

      I worked for Outback for years, the blooming onion is breaded, not battered. Skip the beer, flour the onion, dip it in a milk wash, the flour it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      of the recipe sounds right except the wet batter is completely wrong outback uses only eggs and milk for it 10 eggs per gallon if I remember correctly I worked there for about five years 2 of which I made the onions a few days a week

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      really fluffy and crispy batter! used less than 18oz of beer. was pretty good, but will definately up the spices and salt next time, was alittle bland for us. chili sauce was good too, make it a day ahead of time is best in my opinion. thanks for a great supper side!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      These were good, but did not taste like Outback's onion at all. They were not nearly as spicy. That being said, we did like them. I cut my onions up and made these as onion petals instead of a whole onion.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      Loved it, perfect. Not a single complaint. And yes ... letting them sit in cold water seriously works wonders. I also did mushrooms (buttons) the same way the the same sauce. Sauce batter too. Equally as good. IT WAS A FRY night, can't you tell. We did wings too. I did have veggies though, it offset all the bad frying. But ... IT WAS so tasty! Thanks for an easy good very accurate recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      The sauce was SPOT ON! Tastes just like(if not BETTER) Outback's, We only used half the beer to make the batter for the onion and I doubled the flour and put some more Cannyee in it. The first batch we made like the first recipe calls for and it didnt come out well, I learned that if you double the flour and pepper and add approx 9 oz of beer it comes out better. It was hard to get the entire onion covered so next time we may just try making onion rings so it's easier. All in all this is a great recipe and I will be making this agian and agian!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2014

      I went for it this weekend for a birthday party I threw. We had steaks, a blue cheese salad and I served this bloomin' onion. It was incredible and a total hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      made the dipping sauce for fried mushrooms, perfect! thanks so much, a happy hive here :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2013

      Well, this is similar to the recipe I have, but different at the same time. The Sauce is identical ingredients though. However, the Bloomin' Onion itself is different. My batter is just an egg and milk wash. The Dry ingredients you don't mix with the Wet ingredients. Also, there is MUCH more Cayenne in the Dry with a few other ingredients as well. It comes out with a 'KICK" that is JUST LIKE Outback Steakhouse!!!!!! There is WAY TOO MUCH FLOUR in this recipe; it is killing the spices which is what I want to taste with a Crispy Coating--mine has it! <br/><br/>Slicing the onion is a Challenge, but just take your time and slice carefully! It may not come out perfect, but it is dang good. If anyone wants the recipe, just let me know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      I don't know what i'm doing wrong. I have tried at least 5 bloomin' onion recipes and techniques. I can't seem to get it right. I bought a bloomin' onion cutter. The raw onion looks beautiful but then when it comes to frying it...i literally destroy it. This batter seems tasty with what I was able to salvage out of my onion. I can't fault the recipe for my failure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2012

      pretty good for my first time! i havent tried making the chili sauce, i will next time but i did make the outback sauce which was really good, i added a little more ketchup and cayenne to my sauce and batter to make it spicier, i also added lawrys seaoning salt to my batter as well for more flavor since many ppl below said it was somewhat bland. soaking the onions in the water does make it open better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      hubby loved this! we didnt make the chili sause but did try the outback dipping sauce. it was great! thanks for sharing.. will try again..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Fantastic served with the Outback Dipping Sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      We thought the sauce was 'spot on'! You definitely need to let it sit for a few hours to get the true taste. I too made onion petals which are easier but they do take longer to make since you have to fry them in batches. We really enjoyed them but we didn't feel the breading was quite the right texture as the Outbacks and they also weren't as spicy. HOWEVER, they were really, really good! Next time I won't use all the beer. I think that is why the batter was so thin and crisp compared to the Outback's. I'll also use some cayenne in the batter. Definitely delicious and a fantastic appetizer!! Thanks DiB's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      OH MY GOD! EVERYTHING was PERFECT! I LOVE YOUUUU! Seriously, thank you sooo much!!!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      I made up the sauce for a great zippy dip option. Next time I'll try the onion too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      I have tried many recipes for Bloomin' Onions and Onion Rings. This is, by far, the BEST recipe! Instead of making rings or a blooming onion, I cut the onion into "petals". They taste great this way and there is little to no mess. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Outback Steakhouse Bloomin' Onion

    Serving Size: 1 (343 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 690.1
     
    Calories from Fat 331
    47%
    Total Fat 36.7 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 10.3 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 48.9 mg
    16%
    Sodium 958.5 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tomato chili sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites