Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Panko Fried Oysters for Two Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Panko Fried Oysters for Two

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2011

      Wow! I've never been able to make these at home without flopping and throwing them away. The breading was very very good. I didn't refrigerate but fried them right away and wasn't able to make the sauce but it sounds good. I made them exactly as recipe states. Make sure you follow the instructions mentioned about only frying a couple at a time and let the oil get back up to tempature in between. Thank you for posting! It's a definite keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Outstanding oysters! These were A LOT of work but well worth it considering the taste. The kids even enjoyed them. We all agreed however that the hot sauce was not so hot and could use some spicing up. I'll definitely be fixing these again. What a treat!

      I just made these for a second time. I made the recipe exactly as written. I have to say, these are hands-down the best fried oysters I've ever made. I had a pint of oysters and had to double the egg mixture and the panko mixture. My husband, kids and I are still wishing we had more! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2003

      This is an excellent recipe. I made this as BeachGirl wrote it, using skim milk in the egg dip. Don't be frightened of the 28 steps in this, this is a quick and easy recipe and BeachGirl's instructions are clear and concise. Follow exactly and you'll end up with beautiful nuggets of fried oysters....the panko gives them a lovely appearance with little points sticking out here and there. The hot sauce is great as well....I added a bit more Tabasco. Thanks so much BeachGirl for a recipe that my husband and I will enjoy forever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      This recipe did not disappoint!!! They left us wanting more. I usually serve tartar sauce, but this sauce was soooo much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      This is above excellent! I followed recipe as written and they were perfect! I agree, the instructions are very clear - it looks long, but isn't, and is very easy to follow. Can't wait to go back to Charleston (Coo's Bay), OR for more fresh oysters. Once made they sliced perfectly for appetizers. The sauce is the best and will serve with fish and shrimp in the future. Check out my picture. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      i have used this recipe for the past 3 years 5 stars what a owsom recipe keep oil at 375 for a crisp oil free oyster. i went deep sea fishing and took the blue fish home cut off the dark part and fried it using this recipe took it in to work and 15 men wanted the recipe thank you beach girl wayland n.y.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Wow! I personally cannot stomach the idea of eating oysters, but the look on my hubby's face upon biting into these was enough to make me want to make them over and over again! I tripled the recipe, making 16 oz of oysters and half a pound of jumbo shrimp for myself and let me tell you, though I can't say how the oysters were, the shrimp were absolutely phenomenol! I am making this for the second time tonight (and it's only been a week ago that I made it the first time!) By the way, I made this with Roasted Garlic-Herb New Potatoes and Green Beans - it was a hit to be repeated ALWAYS! Also instead of the sauce I make T.g.i. Fridays Jack Daniels Grill Glaze and use it as a dip instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      Loved them! We make these whenever we want an oyster po' boy... They stay so crispy due to the panko bread crumbs... I didn't even get a chance to make the hot sauce since my BF was eating them as quickly as they were being fried! If we don't grill our oysters, this is the way we love to eat them! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      Best oysters I've ever had. Didn't make the hot sauce. Tartar and cocktail sauce was fine for this country boy. Five stars I don't give out easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      I didn't notice the refrigerate-after-breading directions until I was well into making it, so just went ahead and fried 'em without that step, and it worked fine. Also you can do what you like regarding seasoning the flour and the panko coatings. But make the hot sauce as written! It is terrific. This whole recipe was a winner when I made it for my gal for Valentine's Day, accompanied by green beans, new potatoes and a cacao-flavored Belgian-style ale. A simple yet spectacular and sensual feast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      Excellent, crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. In the egg dip I used half&half instead of milk and in the four coating used Old Bay and kosher salt instead of the other spices. Didn't do the Hot Sauce, just a cocktail sauce. Ain't that Panko just the greatest!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2013

      quick easy and the way mom cooks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      I have never reviewed a recipe, but this is OUTSTANDING! I made it close to the recipe as written but I did not have the Morton's seasoning, so used seasoned salt. The sauce is a must too! Don't be scared, it is really not overly hot or spicy. <br/><br/>I also fried at 340 to 350 because I like my oysters cooked a bit longer and the ones I used were huge. I deep fat fried in a sauce pan with about 1.5 inches of shortening and vegetable oil combined. I didn't want to burn the coating. <br/><br/>This will be my go-to for fried oysters from now on. We have fried oysters as often as my waistline will allow.<br/><br/>PS If you don't want to pay out the nose for panko you can find lots of recipes to make your own. I recommend finding one that uses the shredding blade of your food processor to make the right sized crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      These were the best oysters that we had ever eaten. They were fabulous! So crunchy and good. Will be making them again soon I'm sure. Thanks for this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      I loved loved loved these, but like most I dida li ttle revise. Used egg beaters instead of eggs. Found the breading a bit too much with two dips in the egg so just egg, flour / panko mixed together. I felt it needed salt a bit and just lemon squeezed on top. Perfect. Will make these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      -I'm not going to rate this yet as I have not made it. I attempted fried oysters many years ago and it was a complete disaster. This recipe is 10 stars for the clear and concise prep/cooking directions. I look forward to trying fried oysters again, now that I know how to do it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      We did not make or use the sauce. The oysters were delicious BUT Pan Fried Oysters is way simpler.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      These were delicious! But, I have a confession, to make. I didn't have panko, and didn't want to go out...again. I searched the net and someone suggested substituting Rice Crispies, finely crushed. (I know, I know, but it worked!) That's the only modification I made; I used the club soda. The next time I'll use panko, but I don't think the oysters could be any better. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      Excellent! My dad has come for a visit and he doesn't eat that well as a single guy. He loves oysters and LOVED THIS RECIPE! The oysters were delicious. I would highly recommend this recipe. They were easy to make and I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      These are indeed the "World's Best"! The best fried oysters we've ever had. Would give 10 stars if I could. Followed the recipe to the letter, except served with tartar sauce as we don't care for horseradish or anything hot. Thanks, BeachGirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Panko Fried Oysters for Two

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 378.2
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    18%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 561.2 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 21.8 g
    43%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning

    italian seasoning

    low-fat mayonnaise

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites