17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these for my niece's birthday party and they turned out great. I rolled the hotdogs in flour before I battered them. I also used a tall glass to pour the batter in and then dunk the hotdogs in before frying. Thanks for the great recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
66cookin'mamma September 15, 2010

10 stars! Something I wish was on that big roomy part of the food pyramid. Made for Alphabet Soup.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 31, 2009

Very easy and turned out great! I also used only one egg (plus a little extra milk)and added some onion powder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PubRat May 18, 2011

Soooo good! I have been making these for some time now. I use only 2 Tablespoons sugar, 1 egg, and add 1/4 tsp. of dry mustard into the flour/cornmeal mix. Also, I use chopsticks for the wooden skewers and put the batter into a large glass and dip the dogs into that! Now I don't have to go to the State Fair! LOL Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie July 07, 2010

Loved these..I scaled it back for 2 dogs but still used a whole egg so my mixture was a little runny..if I had more hot dogs and did a half mix I'm sure it would have been fine.. I even cooked up the leftover batter into fritters and it was good!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** November 22, 2009

I made these as appetizers for our 4th of July block party, and they went over with our neighbors real well! We had several types of mustard to dip them in, to please everyone!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefMightyRich August 13, 2009

I really love it . It's the best recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adbbth May 09, 2015

Made these with my step sons and they were a hit. Easy to make, fun to eat. Thank You!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msshanna603 May 08, 2015

Just posted on the Onion Ring subject -- wanted to add I think last time I may have added a bit of Baking Powder - but the big key is a simple well visually balanced and tested ratio of beer and flour. Eggs not allowed! Done right they are to die for and LIGHT but so beautiful and glass fragile crispy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 21, 2015

Made this for my Mom and my 18month old son. My son and my mother are both allergic to dairy but with the added allergy of soy for my son as well. So I substituted the milk for his coconut milk. Still delicious! And my son loved them. Finally another food I can add to his short list of foods he can eat. My mother gave them two thumbs up too...she's a corn dog fan. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenn2.0 January 13, 2015
Perfect Corn Dogs