Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Perfect Southern Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Perfect Southern Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    120 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 120

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2006

      Very good recipe. We very much enjoyed the end result and I did not find the cooking as difficult as I thought it would be. Living in a small town in scotland I was unable to find Season-All Salt, so found out what was roughly in it and made my own which worked very well. 3 tbsp Salt 2 tbsp Sugar 1 1/2 tbsp Garlic Granules 1 tbsp Sweet Paprika 1 1/2 tbsp Black Pepper 1/2 tbsp White Pepper 1/2 tbsp Cayenne Pepper 1/2 tbsp Onion Salt This makes more than you need for this chicken recipe but I am storing it for next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      This was very good but I agree with others that the cornmeal creates a bit of a gritty texture. I made it exactly as the recipe states except I used Seasoned Salt which has a great flavor for chicken. Instead of the cornmeal I usually use Panko which you can find in the oriental area of the grocery store. Use about 3/4 cup of in place of 2 TBS cornmeal. There is no gritty texture with panko and the chicken ends up nice and crispy. Also, I have better results with the breading sticking better and frying crispier on the chicken with less buttermilk. I would use 1/2 cup instead and an extra egg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      Fried chicken is my all time favorite and now so is this recipe!! TY PanNan....I did 6 large breasts and had to cook in 2 batches, but was well worth the time. Mine took almost 45 minutes to cook but was at least done thru. Thanx for the hint about covering. Worked like a charm then uncovered and cooked slow until nice and crispy! Wonder chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      This has proved staggeringly popular with my neighbours, whose usual methof of cooking chicken is skin off and cooked over a charcoal BBQ. No seasoning, marinade or even basting.Dry and flavourless. My neighbours are Turkish - as I live in Turkey!
      When we first moved here some six years ago it was difficult to get many spices: now there are three spice shops open in the local indoor market alone.
      I use a deep fryer at 340 F and follow the cover, turn, cover and then uncover routine. It works perfectly every time. I have to substitute yoghurt for the unavailable buttermilk. Yoghurt made by a Turkish neighbour. She has no cows, just goats and sheep. It is an "interesting" yoghurt!
      With Beef and Lamb being very expensive out here ( some 7 or 8 times the cost of chicken ) and Pork not being available at all we eat a lot of chicken. Thanks for this recipe, along with the Lawry's Season Salt clone recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      The kiddos were asking me to make some Southern Fried Chicken, so of course I came directly to Zaar as I do almost daily since joining, to look for a recipe. I decided on this one, and the whole process went really well. I opted for the panko crumbs as we always love them. Great choice too! We had with some potato salad and coleslaw for a real southern appeal. We devoured every piece of chicken on the dish in no time flat! The kids were eating more than talking, which is unusual at my house! Both said they can't wait to have it again, this time I have to make more, and they want it with some homemade french fries! Here I go on the lookout for a good fry recipe now! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      I liked the idea of covering the chicken for the first five minutes, it DID help to insure it cooked well. I added a little pepper and paprika to the flour ingredients, and I double dipped the chicken. Very nice. I've added your recipe to my cookbook! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      This was so good! I made it last night, using drumsticks. It is the best fried chicken I've made. I think the real key is covering for the first part of cooking time. The chicken was beautifully done, and the coating was nice and crispy and tasty! This is a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      Okay so I decided to try this recipe after my husband said my recipe wasn't the best he'd ever had (I'm still working through it in therapy). He really liked this recipe and my kids liked it too. I enjoyed it as well.......I'll admit its better than my own recipe. Its a keeper. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      You have revolutionized the method and taste of my fried chicken! This was the easiest, less messy, most delicious fried chicken I have ever made. ANd that says a lot, as I make enough fried chicken that my husband bought me the GE mini frier (GREAT appliance for not much money). EVen though I deep fried, I followed the covering and uncovering times. I found that 340 degrees for the oil was the best cooking temp. It was so good that broiling it in the oven next day returned it to its delicious crispness. I have used brining techniques for a long time, but had never thought to do it for frying. I only brined my chicken for about 45 minutes at room temp, and they were still lovely. Thanks so much!! PS Made my own season salt with Mrs. Knudson's Season Salt from the zaar member Foxfire13 (the recipe is posted here on zaar) and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Looks like a great dish, unfortunately not so great for people with salt issues. 83% of recommended daily intake in one serving!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      I did it! I finally made delicious fried chicken! I made two changes to the recipe. I omitted the oregano and used panko instead of corn meal. Fantastic! I wish I could give this one a 10 star rating! Thanks, PanNan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2005

      Great recipe! For all those reading this and longing for really GOOD fried chicken. Take PanNan advice about cast iron. Real Southern Fried Chicken is cast iron cooked. Find a really good one in flea markets or on the I.net. Well-seasoned Chicken Fryer skillets are at least 3 inches deep, and some come with cast iron lids for tight fits. Mine(my Grandma's) is over 80 years old and going strong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2014

      OMG !! This was awesome. For health reasons, I cooked in a 325 F oven for 45 mins and it came out perfectly. Do not change any of the steps or ingredients. Every thing is right on the mark. I may have to cheat one day and try to fry like it says but I need my heart to keep beating for a while yet. Definite keeper. 10 Stars ***.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      I haven't tried this recipe, but I will trust it, due to the reviews... I would just like to speak to the issue of pan crowding.
      When our kids were young, and we would invite our friends/ relatives for Sunday dinner.. I always started the chicken in my back iron chicken fryer.. but when feeding 14 plus people.. we could never have done it exactly the way the recipe suggests...

      The only sensible way was to brown the chicken in the pan and transfer it to the oven on cake racks over a sheet pan.. and cook it then at a fairly high temp.. so that it wold not only stay crispy, but also lose some of the fat into the pan below..

      There might be drawbacks to this method. please suggest a better way..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      This was great, only thing it needs more then minutes cooking time after the five minutes of each side cooking time. I placed them in the toaster over under toast for an additional fifteen minutes just to make sure the pinkness was gone on the rest of the chicken. Also, next time I will use more season salt and/or salt for our taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      I too was very impressed with this fried chicken (I made it for my husband, but couldn't resist eating part of one breast). I used Lawry's seasoning salt, which worked just fine. I think the only thing I may do differently next time is to just slightly reduce the oregano to 1 1/2 or even just one teaspoon. Just a personal preference. Thanks for sharing such a tasty dish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2003

      Very close to being better than my mother's (who, by the way, makes the best fried chicken in the world). I followed the directions exactly, but only used one egg. The crust was light, crunchy and wonderful. The chicken was perfectly done near the bone. Great tip girl!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      Great recipe. The salt bath worked like a charm. Covering the skillet for the 5 minutes was spot on. My chicken came out done, browned perfectly, and juicy. I'll make this again for sure. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2013

      We normally do not eat fried foods but my 12 yr old daughter had a craving for fried chicken so I found this one. I used Panko bread crumbs instead of cornmeal (personal preference) and omitted the oregano (personal preference) and followed the rest of the recipe as instructed. The chicken was fantastic!! Some of the best homemade chicken we've had!! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      This is the second time I have made it and this cannot get any better! Made some Southern macaroni and cheese to go with it. Soaking the chicken in the salt water brine is key as it gives it flavor on the inside as well. Everyone loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Perfect Southern Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (395 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 683.6
     
    Calories from Fat 342
    50%
    Total Fat 38.0 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 267.9 mg
    89%
    Sodium 2014.1 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 51.5 g
    103%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Season-All salt

    Season-All salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites