124 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We have a mess of grandkids and this is a perfect recipe for even the picky eaters. Easy to make and fun. A great recipe if you're looking for that 'carnival' atmosphere. A solid addition to my cookbook. Thanks, ShannonBecker

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rick Young August 16, 2002

These were so yummy !!! I had used Hebrew National weiners and they were delicious. So easy to whip together. This was the first time making corn dogs too. I had put the batter in a tall glass and then dipped the weiners in the batter that way. I will be making these over and over again. The batter fluffed right out so nicely when in the fryer. They freeze so well too with reheating in the micro they taste just like they came out of the fryer. Thanks for sharing your recipe Fair weather cook we really enjoyed them.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny August 26, 2010

I have never eaten a corndog in my life, and this was my first time. I thought it was really unique....sweet, crispy on the outside, and of course salty on the inside. The baking powder made the batter very fluffy after frying which was great. I need 1 1/2 cup (approx)of milk to make it the right consistency. Yummy...the spicy sausages def. tasted better than the normal ones.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac April 05, 2003

No complaints, these were really good corndogs. Used a glass for the batter, I had enough for about 18 dogs.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
specialbekah September 14, 2010

Wow! I have been looking for a good corndog batter for a while. This one is really good. I used about 1 1/3 cup of milk. It needs to be a little thicker than pancake batter to stick properly. This is also great batter for cheese on a stick. Just cut cheese to 1/2"x3", and proceed with corndog directions. I like it with pepperjack cheese. My kids like it with velveeta. You can use any kind you like. Yummy! Thanks for the recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeAnnRay August 22, 2009

These were really easy to make. I reduced the amount of these to six with no problem. I also didn't use any sticks. Otherwise I didn't change anything else. The flour helped the breading to stick very well. I will make these again soon!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KansasGirl June 18, 2010

Oh my goodness! These are so good. I made this recipe and we loved them. I too, skipped the stick, so it would fit better in my pan but didn't miss it. I loved this recipe. I was able to get 15 from them. Thank you so much for sharing this with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 16, 2011

These were fabulous! My son is allergic to eggs so I used Ener-G Egg Replacer for the egg. The rest I followed as written. My husband said these tasted like the kind you get at a fair. I will definitely make these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rae #3 February 18, 2010

We were sitting around one night talking about food we missed from the USA and someone mentioned corn dogs and everyone agreed. I hadn't been able to find corn meal so asked a friend who was coming to bring me some. I made them first for my husband and he said they were very good and to please make them again. The next couple times I made them I quartered the hot dogs so they were bite size appetizers. This was so much easier to fry than the whole hot dogs. They were a hit! I'm almost out of corn meal so need to find someone who is coming down soon to bring more. Thanks so much for this delicious recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katemeri November 18, 2009

My kids wanted hot dogs but I didn't want to spend that much so I tried these. They were good and the kids liked them. Easy to make as well. I even let my 8 year ld help make these. Next time I'll have to keep track how much milk I add.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
H. George Christensen August 24, 2003
Pronto Pups aka Corn Dogs