Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Puerto Rican Fried Meat Pies: Empanadas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Puerto Rican Fried Meat Pies: Empanadas

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2010

      I added recaito amd sofrito......makes it yummier!!! My puerto rican husband loves them!!! I used the frozen goya disc too!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      thanks , this is awesome! i am 13 and tried this recipe and impressed my whole family! thanks again! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      This is a very common dish referred to by puerto ricans as pastellios. I made my own filling, but I used the dough recipe. I was quick and easy. I downsized the recipe and the only thing I changed, is added more salt. Its a very authentic recipe. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      I made these according to your recipe. There was "something" missing. It was golden raisins. When we lived in P.R. there were always golden raisins in them. After adding the raisins to the left-over meat, it made it much better but still not authentic enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      Great recipe; reminded me of Puerto Rico. I used discos and rotisserie chicken. One day, I'll get the nerve up to try and bake them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      This did not turn out for me:( I'm sure the recipe is perfect and it was my fault I got the results I did. The dough was great, but it kept tearing. I got one good empanada out of the bunch. The rest I turned into sope type shells and added the filling on top. I was also disappointed when after I finished cooking I realized I forgot the bell pepper. I don't think I will try this recipe again, it was awfully time consuming. I will continue to purchase my beef patties from the Jamaican restaurant in Chicago.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

    • on January 06, 2010

      1st time i ever made these next time ill cut down the garlic a little but other than that great loved it i didnt make my own dough i bought the disco disc which worked out great thanks for all your help!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      I thought this was so good! I bought premade empanda dough, instead of making it myself, but the filling was delicious and the overall product superb! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Changed things a bit. I used frozen empanadas. I whole onion,pepper and no salt and 1 pkg of goya picante seasoning and 1 pkg goya con azafran. We like things very spicy. It was very good. I just had empanadas at a party and wanted them more seasoned. I also fried them on top of the stove. Med until crispy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      I'm pretty sure that pastellios are the Dominican name for this...since in PR we always called them empanadas. I use a different filling, but the crust is nice. Not the same as mom's, but nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Puerto Rican Fried Meat Pies: Empanadas

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 402.9
     
    Calories from Fat 260
    64%
    Total Fat 28.9 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 25.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 320.4 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    salt and pepper

    sazon goya with coriander and annatto

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes