Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Rocky Mountain Oysters Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rocky Mountain Oysters

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2014

      Had some from a shared purchase, (ea person gets a 1/4 to half of a farm-raised beef") - I had asked for the organ meats, and had gotten some 'fries'... Had known about and maybe even tried as a teen in Tx and Ark, but had never cooked....And still did not have the occasion to cook them till now - my daughter was visiting with her family, who is also adventurous of spirit.<br/>Cooked pretty much according to recipe, but pre-soaked in beer with a little salt and lemon juice, used a milk and egg wash, did not add hot sauce to oil.... Added a little Cavenders to cornmeal/flour mix in addition to garlic powder....Served as a "breakfast meat' at a family breakfast (8 folks)....Turned out very nicely, light in taste, firm in texture, but not chewy. No-one said 'yuck' - from age three to age 88 - a pretty good feat!....and actually got several - " 'hmm's' - "good!"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      Every year I go to a party where they offer these. They are so good! I find that I prefer the calf testes whole because I'm not a big fan of breading. I was hunting for nutrition and found this on the Weston Price Foundation page: 100 g cow or pig testicles has: 135 calories 3 g fat 375 mg cholesterol 1 g carbohydrates 26 g protein

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      This was excellent. I took shortcuts.The oysters had been skinned by the butcher. I parboilded for 5 mins as recommended coated with seasoned flour. dipping once in red wine then recoated. Fried in olive oil with Tobasco added until golgen, about 3 mins on each side. The result was delicious tender oysters. Without Karen's excellent recipe I would not have known how to proceed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      haven't made it yet, but is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      Told hubby it was deep fried steak he loved it along w/18 yr old son after dinner I dropped the bomb or should I say "oyster". They said they would eat them again just don't tell them what it is.LOL

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2002

      My Family is a beef producer in California and we love mountain oysters. My husband cooks them for us by using Flour, salt, italian seasonings, and olive oil. We think this is the best for our oysters. Sometimes less is better. Thank you for having a great recipe online so even the squemish can enjoy a great dish. Melinda Perez

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2014

      Thanks for the recipe. Would like some notes on the campfire version if someone could post please.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      These are commonly eaten at branding time on Western ranches. The younger the animal, the sweeter and more tender the oysters are.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      Is this good date food? I love them, but is it hard to get men to eat them?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rocky Mountain Oysters

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 192.0
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    7.%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3493.9 mg
    145%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    bull testicles

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites