Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Scotch Eggs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scotch Eggs

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2002

      The trick to the pork sticking to the egg is dip in seasoned flour before "wrapping" with sausage. A scottish friend of ours shared this recipe and it is a winner at brunch and so pretty to serve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      what a unique recipe! I had a hard time dipping the eggs in the eggwash without the pork falling apart, but once I got it all together and fried these babies in hot oil, they came out delicious. They looked monstrous (and very entertaining to look at I might add; hubby calls them "odd-balls"), so I cut'em into quarters. They were filling and wonderful. I serve them with some ketchup. Thank you Mysterygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Wonderful, but what could be bad? The kids loved these. We ate them cold as part of a picnic meal with mustard. I baked them as directed but found they crisp nicer if I flip them a few times. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2014

      This recipe came out PERFECTLY! I used to hang out at a tavern run by a salty old Scotsman back in the day and he made these for every occasion from SuperBowl Sunday to St Patrick's Day. I made a batch for St. Patrick's and took them in to the office. Even the usual finicky crowd couldn't resist them and then in the afternoon coming back around, snooping for seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      I had these at Ren Faire and am glad I found the recipe here. Love them with jalapeno mustard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Great recipe. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      Made these with Venison sausage, DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      They are better cold the next day with no sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      If you use smaller eggs (they call them medium these days) it is easier to wrap them and you use less sausage...layer should be 1/4 to 1/2" thick...thicker or thinner causes cracking. I also like a sauce made with Worcester, soy, tomato paste, ketchup, and balsamic vinegar -- for dipping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scotch Eggs

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 665.5
     
    Calories from Fat 344
    51%
    Total Fat 38.2 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 346.4 mg
    115%
    Sodium 1337.6 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 32.4 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites