Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Secret Ingredient Best Juicy Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Secret Ingredient Best Juicy Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on May 25, 2011

      First, I want to clarify that I do not rate recipes 5 stars just to be nice or polite but only when it's spectacular. This was SPECTACULAR! The chicken was unbelievably tender and seasoned perfectly. I made chicken strips cut from breasts. Followed the recipe exactly except I reduced the garlic powder the 1/2 tsp (personal taste preference). Don't miss letting the chicken sit for a while after breading. I had NO problem with the breading falling off but I think that was due to letting it sit like instructed. I marinated the cut chicken in the liquid mixture for a couple of hours in the fridge before breading and frying. That also might have made a difference with the breading staying on. Some have mentioned taste being bland. I disagree as we thought the taste was perfect. Follow the directions exactly but remember everyone has their own preferences with taste. When they are done if you think it needs more sprinkle some seasonings over the finished product and adjust the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Delicious! I cut my chicken breasts into tenders, and they taste just like ones from a restaurant, they were so good! I must admit I used about 3 pinches of cayenne (we like it spicy). We fried these in our deep fryer at 375 degrees for 4 minutes. They were perfect! Thank you for posting, I will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      My wife made this last night, but a little different...instead of frying, she baked it in the oven at 375 for 1-1/2 hours. It turned out GREAT!!! The skin was nice & crispy & the meat was moist. THANKS for the idea...will most definately make it, again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      I really did not get to eat it due to me being on a diet but my husband loves it. I did fry up some of the dough and eat little pieces of it and it was very good. Will make again and again. Thank you for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      Another winner! I used 5 boneless skinless chicken thighs (so I left off the last 2 T of flour and cornstarch), and followed the recipe with the exception of substitutuing the seasoned salt, which I was out of, with a cumin blend mixture I always keeep on hand (chili powder, cumin, a little cayenne, granulated garlic and onion, a salt-parsley blend, etc). It took 8 minutes in about 2 inches of oil on medium heat to reach 185 degrees on the instant thermometer. I used a 99% fat-free condensed chicken soup and let the chicken sit on a rack after dredging, for an hour or so at room temperature. The coating adhered nicely, crisped up beautifully and the chicken was nice and moist inside. The skinless thighs worked perfectlly, I see no need to use a thigh with the skin on for this recipe (usually I find it helps keep the chicken moist, but it's not needed here!). I often oven fry chicken, and I think I may try that with this recipe as some reviewers did, just to make it a little healthier. This is a keeper recipe for sure! Update: I did this recipe again with 4 very large bone-in thighs, following the seasonings exactly but subbing cream of mushroom soup for the cream of chicken. I browned in the oil over med-high heat for 8-10 minutes, then removed to pan with a rack and baked at 350 for 45 minutes, to an internal temperature of 180, and it was also excellent prepared this way with the big bone-in thighs. (I'd checked the internal temp at 30 minutes and it was barely 160 degrees.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      Yum, yum, yummy this is good chicken. I put the chicken pieces in the soup mixture for the afternoon and then floured them and let them sit for an hour. They fried up so wonderfully. They were juicy and moist with a crispy crunchy coating on the outside. I will use this recipe again, we loved it. Thank you Kittencal for another winner of a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      My only change was to cut the chicken into strips. (I did add extra cayenne pepper & black pepper.) I also more than doubled the recipe. That made a lot of strips! LOL Great tasting chicken! Full of flavor! Served the strips with baked fries & slaw These strips would be great dunked in chicken gravy or alfredo sauce. Heck, it's great alone! My kids dunked theirs in, bbq sauce, honey mustard & ranch. The cream of chicken is key in this recipe. I can't wait to share this recipe with my friends! Thanks for sharing! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      This was absolutely amazing!! Thank you so much for this recipe! I will make this over and over again! Kittenkal, I love your recipes so much that many times I just search through your cookbook. I am guaranteed a delicious recipe everytime! Thank you so much, you make me look AWESOME!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2014

      Made this chicken for the kids and family, and EVERYONE luv'd, luv'd LUV'D it! Juicy and tasty with every crispy bite. I added a small scoop of chili powder and it kicked up the heat and the flavors perfectly. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2014

      I usually don't make fried chicken because I don't know how. But I followed your recipe and it came out really well. Everyone enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      One of the first recipes I would consider, using canned anything. This is truly creative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2012

      I really liked the breading on this. It was the best ever. For the first time, my son ate the breading but left the chicken. It's usually the other way around. What I didn't like was that the chicken was rather bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      My family loved it! This is now in my permanent cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      Excellent! I even forgot the egg and this recipe was phenomenal. I did strips also and they were the best I've ever had. Tender and delicious. As always, thanks Kittencal for another out of this world recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      I am not the best at frying but I decided to give this recipe a try. I'm sure glad I did! I used about 2lbs of boneless skinless chicken breasts, which were 3 humongous ones. I cut them in half to make 6 pieces and made as directed. I don't usually have full fat cream of chicken soup on hand, but I did today, and I think it is probably important to use this in this recipe over the low fat, which is thinner. I deep fried my pieces for about 15 minutes each and they came out delicious. Next time I'll add a bit more seasoning to my flour mixture, but this was a very good and straightforward recipe that I'll use again. I may also try Ackman's suggestion of baking next time as well. Thanks Kittencal for a good, yummy recipe! Made for the I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      This was nice and juicy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      I have had this recipe saved for a year and decided to try it! WOW! I am so glad I did.It's easy but messy. I did as you suggested and let it sit before frying. That is the trick!!! Topping stayed on instead of coming off in the skillet like my usual recipe does. Will make again! Was a hit with DH and my three kids!Made homemade fream of soup and it needed a little more salt added to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Fabulous!!! I only had cream of mushroom and I was just hoping it would turn out just as good. It was excellent!! Thank you!! 2 thumbs up from the whole family!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Hate to disagree with chef#1417651 BUT, The wife and I just finished this for Supper and we both agreed this was Excellant. Every thing worked out just as written. Will definately make this many times in the future. Thanks Kit, keep up the good work. Capn Jack

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      So very crispy. I think I'll add a litle more cayenne next time and try it with some chicken tenders. And then some wings....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Secret Ingredient Best Juicy Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 438.3
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    21%
    Total Fat 10.4 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 165.8 mg
    55%
    Sodium 761.0 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 43.2 g
    86%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites