Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Smashed Fingerling Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Smashed Fingerling Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2006

      Very, very delicious! My first time making any type of fingerling potato and I really enjoyed them - so did my husband. These were super easy to make as well. I didn't have any parsley, so I decided to just sprinkle them with salt, garlic powder and add a bit of shredded parmesan on top. Thanks for a great and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      These are fantastic! I did not want to deep fry them in the oil, though, so I pan fried them in a little EVOO and butter. They came out delicious! Will definitley make these again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I really loved this recipe. It was easy and delicious. The only recommendation I would make is to smash the potatoes wrapped in a cloth. It keeps them from breaking up (or at least it did for me).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      I thought these were very tasty! I used just under a pound of fingerlings, there WERE just two of us, but I wanted extra to put some fried eggs over tomorrow! My one suggestion, which I knew going in, but didn't follow...hangs head in shame, is make sure all you taters are of roughly the same size and that you do NOT over cook (boil) them - if anything, make sure they are a little under-coooked. I sorta overcooked mine during the boiling part, and some fell apart during the frying process, my fault, not the recipe. Make sure your oil is good and hot and you let them brown really well, drain even more really well, and enjoy. I added a 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper to the butter/garlic/parsley mix (I would have added more but DH would have killed me, lol). Don't gasp Sandi - you know I like my food HOT!!! They were very, very tasty. Topped with some fresh black pepper and served with sauteed baby spinach and strip steaks. I would definitely make again, and I really enjoyed the smashing part, I did THAT very, very well. You could really play with this recipe by adding various herbs of your choice, top with some freshly grated Parm, etc... A keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      My family loved these potatoes! I followed the directions as written except I omitted the parsley since I didn't have any on hand. I don't think anyone missed it though because my husband and son are already asking when I am going to make these again. Thanks for a simple, yet delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      LOVE this recipe, maybe not the healthiest and a little extra work, but what a great splurge. Made as directed only cutting the recipe in half for the two of us and both myself and DH gave it a strong 5 stars. Reminded us a little of steak fries but with great spices that we both enjoyed. Wasn't a potato left on the plate. This is sure to be a favorite and is going right in my "Best of 2013" Made for Rookie Tag Game 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

      YUM! These potatoes are great. So crispy on the outside...almost a homefry/baked potato hybrid. Will be making these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      my husband and friend enjoyed this alot. even better w/ sour cream. looked so pretty and fancy. definately a great, easy dish to serve as a side when there's company over. will make again! thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      I'd never cooked these before, but I've always wanted to try them. So when a friend suggested we split a bag from Costco I was in. Chose this recipe and they were amazing. Didn't start with a full pound because this was supper just for DH, (I had a salad), although I did take a couple of bites. So this wasn't quite a pound of potatos and I boiled them for just ten minutes, which turned out perfectly. When they were cooled I smashed them between two layers of saran wrap, just pushed enough to break the skin and make them a little flat on each side. I certainly didn't need anywhere near a cup of oil. I used part vegeatable oil and part olive oil, a tablespoon or two of each. Threw a little shaved parmesan cheese into the parsley mixture and tossed with those crispy on the outsided tender on the inside little potatos and out came food of the gods. DH ate all of his and would have eaten more. I'll make these again! YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      these were good. I added more garlic and when they were done I topped with feta cheese. It made the recipe wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Great recipe. My wife loved it and asked to use it every time I make fingerling potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      A definite 10! I used a combination of red & gold fingerling potatoes. I also carmelized an onion in the skillet with the garlic & parsley. The flavors are wonderful! I made these to serve with smoked black pepper crusted ribeyes & my husband said it was a restaurant worthy meal. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      These potatoes are to die for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Loved these potatoes. I especially liked the garlic on them before serving. Served them with Rosemary-Roasted Beef Tenderloin With Gorgonzola Butter, Maggiano's Little Italy House Salad and dessert Tiramisu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I had only a few fingerling potatoes left, but I figured it would be enough for my husband and me since my boys don't eat anything they should. Lo and behold, they LOVED these potatoes! We ran out, so will definitely make again soon. I followed the recipe, but had to sub garlic clove with powder and parsely with flakes since I was out of both. Very tasty side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      5 stars for taste! I'd give it 4 stars for prep - maybe I'll pan fry instead of deep-fry next time- but wow. Looks rustic and tastes amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      My teeneaged sons loved this. I used the red,white and blue fingerlings. Did not go well smashing with fist so I used the flat side of the meat tenderiser. Used canola oil. I chopped 3 garlic cloves and fried in 2 Tbsp butter. As other reviewer suggested we sprinkled 1 Tbsp. parmesan cheese. Next time I will add a touch of paprika. Thanks for the recipe Sandi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Wow, something different with a potato! We loved these little buggers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      These were great! I made a nice sat night dinner...pork tenderloin (sauce didn't work, separated and was just oily), sauteed brussel sprouts that I totally burned and blackened, roasted carrots (boring) and then your potatoes...THEY SAVED THE MEAL-thank god! Love that they are different and almost like little potato cakes. I did a shallow fry and while they were crisping up in the pan, the hubby stopped by and said "What do we have here!?" He was a fan too. The added bonus is smashing the potatoes in one fell swoop-super satisfying. Thanks Sandi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      These were very good, I did not use that much oil just a touch on the bottom as I don't like fried food too well, they still turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Smashed Fingerling Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 767.6
     
    Calories from Fat 673
    87%
    Total Fat 74.8 g
    115%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 45.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites