Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Southern Fried Chicken with Milk Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Southern Fried Chicken with Milk Gravy

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2009

      This was made on 9/10/09 as part of mine and SO's dinner. Since there was just the two of us, only 1 chicken was used. And I made the rest of the recipe as follows: for the egg mixture, 1 egg and 1/4 cup of milk. For the coating, the full amount of flour was used, for the seasonings I just shook in a little bit of each one till "it smelled right " ( I know that sounds strange but that's how I do it ;) ). I fried this in a regular skillet, using the directions in Step 5, and it worked just fine. And I of course made the gravy, if you serve fried chicken and mashed potatoes you have to have gravy ,it's a law :). I have to tell you, this is the first time I've ever fried chicken and it turned out done in the center and crispy on the outside. Very good flavor ,and just the right amount of stuff to lick off your fingers. Yummers !!!! .This will be made again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      This chicken was absolutely delicious! The coating made the chicken nice and crisp on the outside and moist and tender on the inside. The seasonings and gravy were really flavorful. I will make this again, thanks Nimz! I made this for Spring PAC 2009.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      Made for the *Best of 2008* cookbook game & because I think there is no better comfort food than a plate of fried chicken w/mashed taters & gravy. I used lrg chicken breasts that I cut in tenders for uniform coating, veg oil for frying & added poultry seasoning to the spice mixture. We pigged out on this delicious chicken & the next dy for lunch I polished off the yummy gravy over bread - a habit from my childhood that my brother & I fought over unless there was enough for 2. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      AWESOME fried chicken with a perfect coating and seasoning!!! I have been making fried chicken for over 25 years and now have a new favorite way for making it!!! My old way was similar to this recipe except I never dipped the chicken in the egg mixture before flouring. The only thing I changed was I added some sea salt to the flour mixture and added part butter for the shortening for added flavor. Thanks so much Nimz for sharing your family's recipe. Made for Went to the Market Tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      My very first self-made fried chicken! And it is wonderful and I didn't burn down my house...or even singe any curtains. (There's a story behind that...:-) I am very proud of myself and proud to have this now as "my" recipeIwith appropriate credit given, of course). Thanks, Nimz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      This was delicious. I just wish I could post a better picture of the chicken. I do not have a cast iron skillet so I don't know if this was what it was supposed to look like. The skin reminded me, texturewise of KFC's.....moist and juicy. Will make again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      This was delicious! My husband is home for the weekend, on a quick break during a month long out-of-town business trip, and I wanted to make him a special dinner. This fit the bill perfectly! We especially loved the milk gravy - it tasted wonderful on the mashed potatoes that I served it with (along with some corn), and I dipped my chicken in it, for a delighful treat! I especially loved this recipe because, in the past, I have not been able to master fried chicken (it never seems to turn out just right), but this cooking method worked beautifully. I will probably always make my fried chicken this way! Thanks for a great recipe for comfort food at its best! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2004

      Very good! I also used chicken breasts. The gravy was delish.... A welcome change from by baked chicken breasts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2004

      This is comfort food at it's best! I don't fry foods too often but this is worth it! I used chicken breast. I didn't make the gravy this time, but plan to next time. Thanks dcmac for a southern favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Southern Fried Chicken with Milk Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1130.7
     
    Calories from Fat 756
    66%
    Total Fat 84.0 g
    129%
    Saturated Fat 23.3 g
    116%
    Cholesterol 306.9 mg
    102%
    Sodium 456.0 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 63.9 g
    127%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites