Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Seafood Recipes >

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    Recipes With Reel Flavor
    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Get Ready to Go Fish
    Everything Seafood

    Everything Seafood

    Shrimp, Salmon, Tuna & More
    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Spicy Catfish Tenders With Cajun Tartar Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spicy Catfish Tenders With Cajun Tartar Sauce

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2003

      This was absolutely delicious! We could not quit eating it. I doubled the recipe and we ate until it was all gone. I will be making this one again. It is a keeper. I am really sorry that I am late on this review. I think that I am about 2 weeks late but I am so happy that I made it. I do have to say that the next time I will cut the salt a little. It wasn't too salty but it made us really thirsty afterwards. This is excellent. Thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      Ohhhh, the suffering, the waiting, the humiliation of drooling all while standing in front of my fry daddy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2013

      I'm not a huge fish fan, but this was so good! I accidentally used Old Cape Cod seasoning instead of Cajun in the batter, but it was plenty flavorful. The tartar sauce was amazing! I made it with Squash relish that I had canned last year and left out the lemon juice and capers since I didn't have any. We both loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      I made both the catfish and the sauce. They were both delicious. I would have liked it a bit more crispy but it's a great flavorful recipe none the less. Thank you! I'm looking for a copycat recipe for the Sweetwater Catfish they serve at Famous Dave's BBQ. The fish is crisp and a bit spicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I am only rating the Cajun sauce. It was wonderful. Served it with oven fried fish. Great for a fish friendly Friday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Quoting Guy Fieri, "this is money!!!" Used catfish fillets soaked in milk for an hour and patted dry. I tweaked things a little, 1 TBS hot sauce per egg, and omitted the salt in favor of 1 tsp of granulated garlic. The tartar sauce I followed to the letter. It was the perfect compliment to the catfish although the catfish was really good without the tartar sauce. The spices of both were just right, none of it really spicy even for a tender pallet. The catfish along with corn on the cob, cole slaw, corn bread with 1/2 of a medium pablano pepper and 2 TBS finely chopped onion that made it taste like hush puppies without having 2 deep fried items in the meal, and old fashioned strawberry shortcake for dessert. Yeah, baby!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Made for the *Best of 2008* cookbook game, we do not get catfish in Iceland & I used haddock for this recipe w/my supply of Tony Chachere's Famous Creole Seasoning by Miss Annie for the Cajun seasoning + Tobasco for the hot sauce in both the fish & the tartar sauce. Made as written & served w/oven-baked potato wedges & cucumber salad, both were such a treat to eat! The # of servings will depend largely on what is served w/it. 5 oz servings (4) were sml & 10 oz servings (2) too lrg, so 3 adult servings seems right to me. The nutritional data is skewed by the 8 cups of oil (1 cup for ea 2.5 oz of fish to fry) & should be reduced IMO. I know I did not use near that amt. That said, we so enjoyed this fish & esp the tartar sauce like most reviewers. Thx for sharing this great recipe w/us. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      Very tasty and the tartar sauce is excellent. I used dill rather than sweet relish and a little extra horseradish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This was fantastic. Everybody who likes catfish needs to use this recipe. You will not be disappointed. The breading was easy and delish! And the sauce was right on! Thanks for the recipe, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      This was great! Like the others, we just loved the sauce. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2006

      This is an awesome dish and the tartar sauce is to die for! I only used 1 T. of hot sauce for the catfish,but followed the recipe exactly for the rest. The catfish was crispy and well-flavored on it's own, but the tartar sauce definitely pushed it over the top! This is the way I'm making tartar sauce from now on ! Thanks for posting this, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      It's all about the sauce... it was terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      This is now my mom's and my favorite dish to make when she visits. She really loves spicy fried fish and this is a winner. The tartar sauce is great too. I've made it with and without the capers and I like it with the capers better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      Like several other people, I also made the sauce only. Made it twice, in fact. (Minus the capers, which some of my guys don't like.) I purposely held off on reviewing the recipe because I wanted to 'tweak' 2 things and let you know how it turned out. Actually, there were mixed results. The first time -- which was a 'trial run', luckily -- I used commercial sweet pickle relish and Cajun seasoning, both in the full amounts specified. The relish sort of overwhelmed everything else, and the seasoning made it way too salty. But you could tell the problem was with the (poor) quality of the ingredients I used rather than with the recipe. Second time, I used a pickle we really like (Heifetz brand "Sweet & Zesty"), cutting each thick slice in half and then chopping. That only added about 5 minutes to the easy prep and made such a difference in taste! If you're a canner, homemade sweet relish would surely be even better. To cut the saltiness, I tried making the seasoning from a 'zaar recipe. Definitely far less sodium -- but also far less flavor than Tony Chachere's. Next time, I think I'll stick with Tony, just using a little less. Third time's the charm, right? And this one is definitely worth 'fiddling with' until you get it just right. Even though I don't think it's quite perfect yet, everyone I've served it to has loved it. Thanks a bunch, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      I just made the tarter sauce, but it was the best tarter sauce I have ever had! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      Barb-this is for the tarter sauce! I had another recipe for the catfish, but couldn't resist the sauce when I read the ingredients. It is great, and will be just as good tomorrow on catfish sandwiches. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spicy Catfish Tenders With Cajun Tartar Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (857 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 8852.4
     
    Calories from Fat 8391
    94%
    Total Fat 932.3 g
    1434%
    Saturated Fat 74.7 g
    373%
    Cholesterol 279.2 mg
    93%
    Sodium 3594.6 mg
    149%
    Total Carbohydrate 99.1 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 26.7 g
    107%
    Protein 53.6 g
    107%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes