16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was absolutely delicious! We could not quit eating it. I doubled the recipe and we ate until it was all gone. I will be making this one again. It is a keeper. I am really sorry that I am late on this review. I think that I am about 2 weeks late but I am so happy that I made it. I do have to say that the next time I will cut the salt a little. It wasn't too salty but it made us really thirsty afterwards. This is excellent. Thank you for posting it.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingerbear March 24, 2003

Ohhhh, the suffering, the waiting, the humiliation of drooling all while standing in front of my fry daddy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng February 27, 2011

I'm not a huge fish fan, but this was so good! I accidentally used Old Cape Cod seasoning instead of Cajun in the batter, but it was plenty flavorful. The tartar sauce was amazing! I made it with Squash relish that I had canned last year and left out the lemon juice and capers since I didn't have any. We both loved it! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover July 15, 2013

I made both the catfish and the sauce. They were both delicious. I would have liked it a bit more crispy but it's a great flavorful recipe none the less. Thank you! I'm looking for a copycat recipe for the Sweetwater Catfish they serve at Famous Dave's BBQ. The fish is crisp and a bit spicy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paintpuddles May 16, 2010

I am only rating the Cajun sauce. It was wonderful. Served it with oven fried fish. Great for a fish friendly Friday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest February 21, 2010

Quoting Guy Fieri, "this is money!!!" Used catfish fillets soaked in milk for an hour and patted dry. I tweaked things a little, 1 TBS hot sauce per egg, and omitted the salt in favor of 1 tsp of granulated garlic. The tartar sauce I followed to the letter. It was the perfect compliment to the catfish although the catfish was really good without the tartar sauce. The spices of both were just right, none of it really spicy even for a tender pallet. The catfish along with corn on the cob, cole slaw, corn bread with 1/2 of a medium pablano pepper and 2 TBS finely chopped onion that made it taste like hush puppies without having 2 deep fried items in the meal, and old fashioned strawberry shortcake for dessert. Yeah, baby!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catfish Jimmy June 23, 2009

Made for the *Best of 2008* cookbook game, we do not get catfish in Iceland & I used haddock for this recipe w/my supply of Tony Chachere's Famous Creole Seasoning by Miss Annie for the Cajun seasoning + Tobasco for the hot sauce in both the fish & the tartar sauce. Made as written & served w/oven-baked potato wedges & cucumber salad, both were such a treat to eat! The # of servings will depend largely on what is served w/it. 5 oz servings (4) were sml & 10 oz servings (2) too lrg, so 3 adult servings seems right to me. The nutritional data is skewed by the 8 cups of oil (1 cup for ea 2.5 oz of fish to fry) & should be reduced IMO. I know I did not use near that amt. That said, we so enjoyed this fish & esp the tartar sauce like most reviewers. Thx for sharing this great recipe w/us. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis February 24, 2009

Very tasty and the tartar sauce is excellent. I used dill rather than sweet relish and a little extra horseradish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 November 22, 2008

This was fantastic. Everybody who likes catfish needs to use this recipe. You will not be disappointed. The breading was easy and delish! And the sauce was right on! Thanks for the recipe, Barb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheGrumpyChef February 08, 2008

This was great! Like the others, we just loved the sauce. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench July 23, 2006
Spicy Catfish Tenders With Cajun Tartar Sauce