23 Reviews

I chose this recipe because it seemed to address other folks' criticism of the more popular recipes. My husband would never eat something with a ton of sugar in it and this met his criteria. He cut the amount of ketchup to 1/3rd cup and it did not overwhelm the flavor of the sauce; he used cider vinegar and diced about 1 T. of fresh ginger into the sauce before adding it to the pan. He didn't add the cornstarch to thicken the sauce. It was good, but I think I would like the sauce thicker next time. We packed this recipe with lots of veggies. Also, very important, to keep this as healthy as possible, cook the chicken in batches in a small amount of oil in a non-stick pan. Use thigh meat instead of breast meat for the most flavorful chicken. This batter has a tempura-like texture. I highly recommend this one and I crave Chinese take-out all the time. It simply doesn't fit into our budget or a healthy diet plan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tikaware August 03, 2013

Excellent! Made per recipe with less ketchup as others recommended. Better than most restaurants.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan in Raleigh, NC September 27, 2012

This is really good. I made this except omitted the carrots. We really liked this and the breading stayed on my chicken, which is a problem in the past. Thank you for sharing a new favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 05, 2011

This is my 2nd time making this dish and it's become an absolute favorite with my family. Highly recommend to all novice cooks. From the breading which is very simple and not messy at all to the final cooking of the sauce.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin' for 3 October 12, 2010

Had people at our deli requesting sweet and sour pork for lunch, so I made this as the special one day without the breading, (don't have the equipment and space to deep fry), made extra sauce, and added red peppers and broccoli over basmati - it's now a bi-weekly staple! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadillacgirl March 14, 2010

This is a fantastic recipe. I've made it with both pork and chicken and both are equally tasty. I usually double the sauce but otherwise this recipe is spot on. The batter is very nice and easy just don't try to fry this in a deep fryer basket like I did the first time... clean up took a while!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jason #3 January 31, 2010

This recipe deservers a 5 star rating for the batter alone! OMG!!! Amazing! We started eating the pork before it even cooled! The sauce was a bit ketchup-y for my taste but still a really great sweet and sour recipe-the best I've ever made! I seasoned my pork pieces with seasoned tenderizer and a splash of soy before dipping in the batter. I also used a deep frier, which saves lots of time. I also pre-mixed the sauce in a bowl so I wouldn't have to try and get everything done at once and didn't end up having to thicken the sauce with cornstarch. I used defrosted frozen carrot chips for time saving sake and made fried rice Easy Fried Rice. This recipe is a keeper and thank you so much for making dinner a big hit!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashleigh12 January 19, 2010

I made this a year ago and it was absolutely fantastic. I made it again last night and my BF loved it even more. I make a lot of Chinese food and am careful about which recipes I choose and this is a winner and I would recommend this recipe. In fact I think I will start using the breading for my orange chicken. The breading was light and crispy. I did lessen the ketchup just a little bit, other than that I made as written.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 August 23, 2007

This is the recipe that my best friend's mom Mrs. Amparano made when I was a kid/teenager! I had a standing invitation to have dinner at their house everytime she made this (OK, I invited myself:LOL:) The sauce is awesome but I believe she thickened hers with a cornstarch slurry and she usually had to make alot for a large family and ahem, guests so she would trim and cut up a big pork roast of some sort. I wasn't interested in cooking back then, just eating so I never got the recipe. Cathy17's tips are dead on right:) I am so excited to see this here! Thank you so so much for posting!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmac085 April 28, 2007

I forgot to include adding cornstarch to the sauce in this review, so I'm re-submitting it. This is very close to the recipe my mom made when I was a kid. It was and still is my FAVORITE dish. Nicole is right - it takes alot of time to prepare, but it is so worth it. I fiddle with the sauce because I like to make a huge batch as it freezes VERY well. I also like a tangier sauce, so I usually add a bit more vinegar and pineapple juice. I also add cornstarch to the sauce to thicken it. I noticed this recipe doesn't call for it. Adjust the recipe to your taste. I measure everything first, then free pour everything when I adjust it to suit our tastes. If you make a large batch, freeze the sauce and deepfried pork separately, thaw and reheat. I also marinate the pork in soy sauce and if you have trouble getting the coating to stick to the pork, I dip the pork into beaten eggs first. I also prefer to use Pork butt (I guess it's called pork shoulder in the states, but Pork Butt in Canada) as it's cheaper and juicier. I used to buy pork butt roasts on sale and then cut them into bitesized chunks, marinate in soy sauce, dip in egg and then in the coating. Before I got a deep fryer, I used my deep dutch skillet, but using a deep fryer works so much better and is far less messy . Set aside a few hours to make this, especially if you're making a large batch to freeze. I always serve over rice and the leftovers the next day are better than when you originally make it. I always make extra sauce because I love dousing the rice in the sauce. ENJOY! It really is VERY tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy17 January 27, 2004
Sweet and Sour Chicken (or Pork)