Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Sweet and Sour Chicken (or Pork) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sweet and Sour Chicken (or Pork)

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2013

      I chose this recipe because it seemed to address other folks' criticism of the more popular recipes. My husband would never eat something with a ton of sugar in it and this met his criteria. He cut the amount of ketchup to 1/3rd cup and it did not overwhelm the flavor of the sauce; he used cider vinegar and diced about 1 T. of fresh ginger into the sauce before adding it to the pan. He didn't add the cornstarch to thicken the sauce. It was good, but I think I would like the sauce thicker next time. We packed this recipe with lots of veggies. Also, very important, to keep this as healthy as possible, cook the chicken in batches in a small amount of oil in a non-stick pan. Use thigh meat instead of breast meat for the most flavorful chicken. This batter has a tempura-like texture. I highly recommend this one and I crave Chinese take-out all the time. It simply doesn't fit into our budget or a healthy diet plan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      Excellent! Made per recipe with less ketchup as others recommended. Better than most restaurants.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      This is really good. I made this except omitted the carrots. We really liked this and the breading stayed on my chicken, which is a problem in the past. Thank you for sharing a new favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      This is my 2nd time making this dish and it's become an absolute favorite with my family. Highly recommend to all novice cooks. From the breading which is very simple and not messy at all to the final cooking of the sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Had people at our deli requesting sweet and sour pork for lunch, so I made this as the special one day without the breading, (don't have the equipment and space to deep fry), made extra sauce, and added red peppers and broccoli over basmati - it's now a bi-weekly staple! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      This is a fantastic recipe. I've made it with both pork and chicken and both are equally tasty. I usually double the sauce but otherwise this recipe is spot on. The batter is very nice and easy just don't try to fry this in a deep fryer basket like I did the first time... clean up took a while!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This recipe deservers a 5 star rating for the batter alone! OMG!!! Amazing! We started eating the pork before it even cooled! The sauce was a bit ketchup-y for my taste but still a really great sweet and sour recipe-the best I've ever made! I seasoned my pork pieces with seasoned tenderizer and a splash of soy before dipping in the batter. I also used a deep frier, which saves lots of time. I also pre-mixed the sauce in a bowl so I wouldn't have to try and get everything done at once and didn't end up having to thicken the sauce with cornstarch. I used defrosted frozen carrot chips for time saving sake and made fried rice Easy Fried Rice. This recipe is a keeper and thank you so much for making dinner a big hit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      I made this a year ago and it was absolutely fantastic. I made it again last night and my BF loved it even more. I make a lot of Chinese food and am careful about which recipes I choose and this is a winner and I would recommend this recipe. In fact I think I will start using the breading for my orange chicken. The breading was light and crispy. I did lessen the ketchup just a little bit, other than that I made as written.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      This is the recipe that my best friend's mom Mrs. Amparano made when I was a kid/teenager! I had a standing invitation to have dinner at their house everytime she made this (OK, I invited myself:LOL:) The sauce is awesome but I believe she thickened hers with a cornstarch slurry and she usually had to make alot for a large family and ahem, guests so she would trim and cut up a big pork roast of some sort. I wasn't interested in cooking back then, just eating so I never got the recipe. Cathy17's tips are dead on right:) I am so excited to see this here! Thank you so so much for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2004

      I forgot to include adding cornstarch to the sauce in this review, so I'm re-submitting it. This is very close to the recipe my mom made when I was a kid. It was and still is my FAVORITE dish. Nicole is right - it takes alot of time to prepare, but it is so worth it. I fiddle with the sauce because I like to make a huge batch as it freezes VERY well. I also like a tangier sauce, so I usually add a bit more vinegar and pineapple juice. I also add cornstarch to the sauce to thicken it. I noticed this recipe doesn't call for it. Adjust the recipe to your taste. I measure everything first, then free pour everything when I adjust it to suit our tastes. If you make a large batch, freeze the sauce and deepfried pork separately, thaw and reheat. I also marinate the pork in soy sauce and if you have trouble getting the coating to stick to the pork, I dip the pork into beaten eggs first. I also prefer to use Pork butt (I guess it's called pork shoulder in the states, but Pork Butt in Canada) as it's cheaper and juicier. I used to buy pork butt roasts on sale and then cut them into bitesized chunks, marinate in soy sauce, dip in egg and then in the coating. Before I got a deep fryer, I used my deep dutch skillet, but using a deep fryer works so much better and is far less messy . Set aside a few hours to make this, especially if you're making a large batch to freeze. I always serve over rice and the leftovers the next day are better than when you originally make it. I always make extra sauce because I love dousing the rice in the sauce. ENJOY! It really is VERY tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      Wow! Better than KittyCal's recipe I tried last year. I used fresh pineapple and only had Orange juice. It was fantastic. Next time I will cut vegetables and chicken into smaller pieces. Before frying, dry the chicken with paper towels, then dip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      Made this with fresh pineapple, canned pineapple juice, and 1/3 c. ketchup. Otherwise, I followed the directions. This is excellent! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      My family really enjoyed this! Thank you for posting! I doubled the sauce except for the pineapple juice and next time i might reduce the brown sugar a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      Delicious. We added a bit of extra veggie to up the nutrient quotient - in our case broccoli. Excellent and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      Super Delicious. Whenever i make this I triple the batch and freeze it. Very Yummy Thank you so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      This was fantastic. By far the best SS chicken recipe I have ever tried. My kids want me to make them chicken like this every night. I did use cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I it time consuming to make but well worth it. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      OMG, it was so good, even my kids, who hate EVERYTHING wolfed it back. I wouldn't change a thing about the recipe. Way better than chinese take-out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      This recipe was so good. I can't wait to eat leftovers for lunch today. I did change it up a little for convenience and to make it healthier. I cooked the cut up chicken in a little butter instead of battering it and then cooked the rest of the recipe as is and added the chicken to the sauce at the end and it was so good over brown rice. I do want to try it with the battered chicken, maybe when I have more time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I absolutely love this recipe, esspecially for the batter. It is so perfect!!! I think the only thing I did differently was use olive oil for the batter instead of vegetable oil because I really don't use anything but olive oil. Still amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      This recipe was fantastic! Well worth the time to prepare! Better than restaurant quality. We all loved this recipe... In particular I LOVED the breading/batter, I've been trying all sorts of batter recipes and this one is just what I was looking for. Have used it for pork and chicken to perfection. Am going to test it out on some whiting fillets next.... Can't wait. Thank you for such a magnificent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sweet and Sour Chicken (or Pork)

    Serving Size: 1 (466 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 657.3
     
    Calories from Fat 258
    39%
    Total Fat 28.6 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 1540.4 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 41.0 g
    164%
    Protein 34.1 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes