26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This review is for the fried bread only. I have made this about 7 times. The bread was a hit with my family. I rolled the dough very thin and they still swelled too thick when fried. I found if I poked the dough with a fork (like when you tenderize meat), it takes the air bubbles out of the bread and you get a more uniform bread. Also, I found using a kabob stick to stab the bread and flip it like a donut makes less of a mess than spatulas, tongs, etc.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms.Ellaneous May 04, 2010

I make this recipe all the time and absolutely love it! I saw that somebody asked about making the shells a good shape--I always roll out the dough, and then put a small round container on it (i.e. a cool whip container), then trace around it with a knife. Works like a charm! Excellent recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
casch11 June 27, 2011

I just made this for my family. My bread looked really bad but tasted sooooo good. I followed the direction exactly for the bread; even when it looked as though it was going to be a mess i kept going. My problem was it did not rise the way I thought it was going to or the way it looked in the picture. The shape was...well there was no real shape, certainaly not circular. Can you or anyone else give me any help with the bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpmurphy June 24, 2011

I am from Texas but live in Ireland and I miss Taco Bell. This is a life saver when I get to craving Taco Bell. This worked out so well and the flavors were so wonderful. My husband liked it and we even made the bread part to go with another dish. AWESOME!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. P. July 21, 2010

This was very tasty, but it was much harder to make the fry bread than I anticipated.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wugfun January 11, 2010

So I have honestly never made the Fry Bread yet, however I have made the supreme filling several times now and love it! This is my go-to recipe when I want a more flavorful beef mixture for tacos, burritos--you name it! Love how the ground beef mixture thickens up with the flour and spices too. Overall great! Also a few times I have used just regular onions that I sauteed for a few minutes instead of dried onion flakes--it works great too

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
summerbreeze December 06, 2009

Enjoyed the fried breads and the meat filling both. I did double all the seasonings to the meat, though, and added some red chili flakes as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare September 07, 2011

EXCELLENT! The shell tasted exactly like taco bell's chalupa. It was just what I was craving. I had to alter the recipe b/c I only had 2 cups of all purpose flour. So I used 3/4 Tablespoon of Vegetable Shortening, 3/4 Tablespoons of Baking Powder, and 3/4 cups of milk with a 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I also had to use self rising flour to bring the dough together and flour my surface with. I made sure the dough wasn't wet after kneeding and I cut my pieces while they were still a little wet. I took the advice of the other reviewer and poked holes in my tortillas with a fork. And I also took the advice of the reviewer who said to use a kabob stick. BIG HELP! They came out perfect! I can't wait to use this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
macayli September 13, 2010

This was just what I needed to fill that taco bell void!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shoty September 04, 2010

Very happy to produce this at home. I did use philly steak instead of ground beef. Just cut it up and everything else the same. THANK YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pollyfrogacres_7197191 June 22, 2010
Taco Bell Chalupa copycat