Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Taco Bell Chalupa copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Taco Bell Chalupa copycat

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2010

      This review is for the fried bread only. I have made this about 7 times. The bread was a hit with my family. I rolled the dough very thin and they still swelled too thick when fried. I found if I poked the dough with a fork (like when you tenderize meat), it takes the air bubbles out of the bread and you get a more uniform bread. Also, I found using a kabob stick to stab the bread and flip it like a donut makes less of a mess than spatulas, tongs, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      I make this recipe all the time and absolutely love it! I saw that somebody asked about making the shells a good shape--I always roll out the dough, and then put a small round container on it (i.e. a cool whip container), then trace around it with a knife. Works like a charm! Excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      I just made this for my family. My bread looked really bad but tasted sooooo good. I followed the direction exactly for the bread; even when it looked as though it was going to be a mess i kept going. My problem was it did not rise the way I thought it was going to or the way it looked in the picture. The shape was...well there was no real shape, certainaly not circular. Can you or anyone else give me any help with the bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      I am from Texas but live in Ireland and I miss Taco Bell. This is a life saver when I get to craving Taco Bell. This worked out so well and the flavors were so wonderful. My husband liked it and we even made the bread part to go with another dish. AWESOME!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      This was very tasty, but it was much harder to make the fry bread than I anticipated.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      So I have honestly never made the Fry Bread yet, however I have made the supreme filling several times now and love it! This is my go-to recipe when I want a more flavorful beef mixture for tacos, burritos--you name it! Love how the ground beef mixture thickens up with the flour and spices too. Overall great! Also a few times I have used just regular onions that I sauteed for a few minutes instead of dried onion flakes--it works great too

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Enjoyed the fried breads and the meat filling both. I did double all the seasonings to the meat, though, and added some red chili flakes as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      EXCELLENT! The shell tasted exactly like taco bell's chalupa. It was just what I was craving. I had to alter the recipe b/c I only had 2 cups of all purpose flour. So I used 3/4 Tablespoon of Vegetable Shortening, 3/4 Tablespoons of Baking Powder, and 3/4 cups of milk with a 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I also had to use self rising flour to bring the dough together and flour my surface with. I made sure the dough wasn't wet after kneeding and I cut my pieces while they were still a little wet. I took the advice of the other reviewer and poked holes in my tortillas with a fork. And I also took the advice of the reviewer who said to use a kabob stick. BIG HELP! They came out perfect! I can't wait to use this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      This was just what I needed to fill that taco bell void!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      Very happy to produce this at home. I did use philly steak instead of ground beef. Just cut it up and everything else the same. THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Great recipe! I added about 1/2 tsp of cumin to the meat for a bit more flavor. We liked the meat so much, I made up a few batches of seasoning in advance for the next time the craving hits. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      This truly is a great recipe. We've made it many, many times and it always turns out good. You can even tweek it a little bit by adding taco seasoning to the mix. It really kicks up the flavor. A+ on this one...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      I thought these chalupas were excellent. The taste was fantastic..... and honestly I had this weird urge to make them into a sweet treat, and I hope to do that soon. They reminded me of almost a home fried short-cut doughnut. One thing that I found that was helpful for us to make them into the chalupa shape was to go ahead and sort of mold them that way, then use two utensils (we used two long spoons we had) to hold them apart just enough for the toppings.... that way we didn't wind up with tortilla that was just barely bent! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      The shells were more like an Indian fry bread than taco bells chalupa. But they tasted good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      I followed the bread recipe and had to make a few changes since I only had 1 cup of flour on hand, but they were still great! I think Taco Bell's are a bit more floury and light but it could be their frying method. I used a tong to place one side of the bread in the oil to create the well in the middle and then flipped, again all about techinique. I'm convinced that a chalupa is a glorified funnel cake because I put powdered sugar on it as a dessert and it tasted just the same:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      I have used your fry bread recipe a few times now. My kids love it. I found a Baja sauce copycat recipe on here that goes great with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      This wasn't really close to Taco Bell, but it satisfied us. The filling was fine, although nothing special, but it's easy to season to your own tastes. We had difficulty frying the shells into the pocket shape, but we should get better with practice. The shells had a great texture (fried for about 3 minutes on 375 degrees) and satisfying taste. We'll do this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      Had this recipe for a long time and enjoy making it. Its something different then the normal soft/hard taco shells. Not quite like Taco Bell, but nice for something different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      i'm sorry...we just felt like both the bread and meat filling was on the bland side. i would definately try to make the bread again w/ more seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      Thanks for posting this. My kids absolutely love the frybread. I like the texture of the meat mixture. We have made this many times and it makes the rotation on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Taco Bell Chalupa copycat

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 424.8
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    33%
    Total Fat 15.7 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 57.1 mg
    19%
    Sodium 856.7 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.7 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites