Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Toasted Ravioli Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Toasted Ravioli

    Average Rating:

    103 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 103

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2002

      Oh yea, these are good! DH and I have ordered these as an appetizer in our favorite Italian restaurant, and he commented that we could have just ordered 2 appetizers and salads and made dinner out of them, so tonight that's just what I did. We had these with a salad, and I am stuffed! Served them with roasted garlic marinara on the side for dipping, or in the case of DH, pouring on. Thanks for the recipe, Sue- we'll be using this a lot! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2002

      These are excellent! I have made this recipe numerous times in the past and they disappear in the blink of an eye. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2002

      this sounds wonderful! I will try this very soon. I have tried something similar at one of our great New Orleans restaurants. They serve "fried" bowtie pasta with spinach and artichoke dip. It's awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Oh my, these are SO addictive. I baked mine - sprayed aluminum foil with olive oil cooking spray and backing for about 10 minutes in a preheated 425F oven. (I was too lazy to pull out the deep fryer.) I also reheated these the next day, cooking the same way but for maybe 7-8 minutes and again, they were still very good. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2002

      A standard St. Louis tradition and delicous. Thanks for the recipe!! Try it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2002

    • on April 18, 2010

      Instead of using oil I toasted these in the oven. Turned out great! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      The raviolis are EXCELLENT! One of my favorite appetizers to make. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the unnecessary steps. There is no need to boil the raviolis first. If you are deep frying them they will cook themselves. Just coat your raviolis frozen and drop them into the deep fryer. SOOO much easier! Also, I like to use sausage and cheese ravioli. Adds a little extra kick since most people just use cheese or some kind of standard meat ravioli. Trust me, the sausage makes it even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Fantastic recipe. The only thing I changed was using 1/2 breadcrumbs and 1/2 panko. This was certainly a hit at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      There is a different version of this recipe on 'zaar that I think works out better than this (I am a native St. Louisan). I have tried doing the toasted ravioli by boiling them first and then doing all of the steps, but you really don't need to do that if your oil is hot enough. Just thaw the raviolis in the fridge the night before, make sure your oil is at 350 degrees before plopping them in and you're good to go. I also find that adding some milk to the egg mixture before dipping them in the breadcrumbs makes them less "eggy" and makes so that breadcrumbs really get into all of the nooks and crannies of the raviolis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      I've had this recipe in my cookbook forever and finally made them for a family dinner yesterday. Sheesh - they were gobbled up so quick I barely got to taste them myself! I used some cheese and some meat ravioli - both were fabulous. This one takes some work, but is absolutely worth it! Crunchy, tasty and be sure to serve with good marinara for dipping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

      I made these for the ladies at work and the compliments were flying. I will be sure to make these again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      YUM! I love a good fried ravioli, and this was no exception! I made my own, with wontons, so mine were rather misshapen, and kinda turned into 'pillows' by the time I fried them, but, no matter. They were crispy and flavorful; I did add a little grated parmesan to the bread crumb mixture, while shredding some parm, to top the ravioli and marinara. Thanks for sharing, Sue Lau; I've tucked them into my 'Best of...' cookbook!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Made these tonight, at first I thought they were a little bland, but as I continued eating them they got better and better. I used cheese ravioli. Only difference I made was I added some italian seasonings, grated parmesan cheese (like the powder kind), and some garlic powder to the breadcrumbs. I think without the extra stuff in there they would have been really bland though. Good starting recipe, thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      So I make these as a meal, not just as an appetizer. :-D These are fantastic, just like the ones at Olive Garden but better (one because they're cheaper, two because you can use cheese ravioli and it's vegetarian). We eat these with a salad. The only changes I made were to the method, not the ingredients. I used a deep fryer instead of skillet and coated the ravioli with eggs, then placed in a Ziploc bag with the breadcrumbs and seasoning and shook. That's the only way I bread things now, it's much cleaner. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      Just made these for a poker night that my husband and I hosted. They were super easy! I used cornflake crumbs because I forgot breadcrumbs at the store, but they turned out amazing! We will definitely make them again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      EXCELLENT!! I tricked my boys into eating spinach! I was so intrigued to try this recipe, but didn't have any of the ingredients listed except fresh cheese and spinach ravioli. I used egg beaters, and realized I was out of breadcrumbs!! Instead I pounded up a bag of chicken flavored Stove Top stuffing (with seasoning included) and coated with that. I did half the cooked batch of ravs in the oil and half sprayed with cooking spray (after breading) and put it under a broiler. You could barely tell the difference in crispyness. Even though EVERYTHING tastes better deep fried, this was a great alternative. ;) My DH is on a major health kick right now, and was very impressed with the baked ravs. I can't wait to try it again using all the right ingredients this time. I'll also use all cheese or sausage ravs next time. The spinach ones are kind of bland to begin with. As a side note, I salted the ravs after they came out because the seasoning in the breadcrumbs weren't quite as flavorful as a breading as I thought they'd be. EXCELLENT DISH!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Yumm-O! Excellent side dish for any Italian meal...it's a nice change from just salad and garlic bread. I used Buitoni's Herb Chicken and Roasted Garlic ravioli that is in the fresh pasta section, so they only boiled for a few minutes since they weren't frozen. I did add a little salt and pepper to the egg, and I added some garlic powder, cayenne, and more Italian seasonings to the seasoned breadcrumbs. This was just to die for...very addicting!! I served it with some jarred marinara that I jazzed up a bit. Will make many more times trying different types of ravioli! Maybe spinach and cheese next time?! ;) Thanks Sue for yet another keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      These were really good even though had a few hiccups along the way. I did overcook them, I opted to boil, then bake, and I left them in the oven a little too long. My fault. I also wasn't exactly sure how long to boil - just til they floated to the top or continue boiling a few minutes. I boiled for - a little too long - i believe. I used a can of Hunt's traditional spaghetti sauce & added garlic & parm & a little sugar. All in all, they STILL tasted good. A bit crunchy but hey, I'll correct all the issues the next time I make them. I used Rissoli frozen cheese ravioli also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      This was a tasty lunch dish. But it was a little more labor intensive than I expected, as it took me a lot longer than 15 minutes total to prepare this dish. It was much closer to 40 minutes total. I made half cheese ravioli and have Italian sausage ravioli, and the consensus in my house is that the sausage revioli were much tastier with the marinara dipping sauce. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Sue Lau. Made for the "Best of 2011" tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Toasted Ravioli

    Serving Size: 1 (353 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 25.1
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    24%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 93.8 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef ravioli

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes