103 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh yea, these are good! DH and I have ordered these as an appetizer in our favorite Italian restaurant, and he commented that we could have just ordered 2 appetizers and salads and made dinner out of them, so tonight that's just what I did. We had these with a salad, and I am stuffed! Served them with roasted garlic marinara on the side for dipping, or in the case of DH, pouring on. Thanks for the recipe, Sue- we'll be using this a lot! :o)

55 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri F. May 18, 2002

These are excellent! I have made this recipe numerous times in the past and they disappear in the blink of an eye. Thanks for posting!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! May 14, 2002

this sounds wonderful! I will try this very soon. I have tried something similar at one of our great New Orleans restaurants. They serve "fried" bowtie pasta with spinach and artichoke dip. It's awesome!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gita May 22, 2002

Oh my, these are SO addictive. I baked mine - sprayed aluminum foil with olive oil cooking spray and backing for about 10 minutes in a preheated 425F oven. (I was too lazy to pull out the deep fryer.) I also reheated these the next day, cooking the same way but for maybe 7-8 minutes and again, they were still very good. Thanks again!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Cherry Blossom May 23, 2010

A standard St. Louis tradition and delicous. Thanks for the recipe!! Try it!!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninja May 21, 2002

Instead of using oil I toasted these in the oven. Turned out great! Thanks for sharing.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrieQuiteContrary April 18, 2010

The raviolis are EXCELLENT! One of my favorite appetizers to make. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the unnecessary steps. There is no need to boil the raviolis first. If you are deep frying them they will cook themselves. Just coat your raviolis frozen and drop them into the deep fryer. SOOO much easier! Also, I like to use sausage and cheese ravioli. Adds a little extra kick since most people just use cheese or some kind of standard meat ravioli. Trust me, the sausage makes it even better.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashiemo June 11, 2011

Fantastic recipe. The only thing I changed was using 1/2 breadcrumbs and 1/2 panko. This was certainly a hit at our house.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GotBoxer? October 27, 2008

There is a different version of this recipe on 'zaar that I think works out better than this (I am a native St. Louisan). I have tried doing the toasted ravioli by boiling them first and then doing all of the steps, but you really don't need to do that if your oil is hot enough. Just thaw the raviolis in the fridge the night before, make sure your oil is at 350 degrees before plopping them in and you're good to go. I also find that adding some milk to the egg mixture before dipping them in the breadcrumbs makes them less "eggy" and makes so that breadcrumbs really get into all of the nooks and crannies of the raviolis.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misspudding January 29, 2006
Toasted Ravioli