12 Reviews

Easy to make, delicious to taste! Used tofu (frozen 24hrs then thawed) in place of chicken, also 2x have added 1 tsp of sesame seed oil. Rolling marinaded pieces in corn starch instead of the cornflour mixture works too, just gives it slightly different taste & texture. Absolutely wonderful, everyone loves this recipe! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueyedwineaux December 30, 2009

Delicious and so easy to make. I used cornstarch instead of cornflour and it came out beautiful! My husband kept coming back into the kitchen for more pieces while I was frying all of the batches of tori bits. I will make this again and again. Thank you ^ ^

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eager cook May 02, 2011

Loveeeeeeee it!! Put 3 T. soy if plan to cook it within the hour. However, I had to learn the hard way to lessen it as I marinated it overnight & it came out a tad too salty. Like other moms who plan for kids' meals, I suggest 2 T soy would be plenty for overnight marination.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shygirl March 28, 2011

Very simple and fast for those on the run. I found 30 minutes plenty for marinade. I added a little jam to merinade as my wife likes things on the sweet side. A little vinegar counter balanced the jam. So simple anyone can do it for a very unique flavor. Thanks - Jim McNulty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 565650 Jim November 07, 2007

This was the maiden voyage of my new deep fryer...I let the chicken marinade much longer than the 30 minutes without a problem (something came up). However, I don't know that deep frying this dish adds so much. My deep frying options were a bit limited in wanting not to make it *so* carb-laden (DH's dietary restrictions), but I think I prefer this marinaded chicken in a saute pan without the cornflour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KWB January 24, 2007

I used TOFU instead of chicken and added a bit of miran to the marinate. This was soo tasty and soo easy to make, I highly recommed this dish! Try it with a tangy ginger sauce for dipping or a sesame sauce. Tofu lovers rejoice, this dish will have you singing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazmina March 09, 2006

This is good! Chicken was a TAD dry, but I guess that's negligible.....I love how SIMPLE and easy it is....and its way cheaper than buying it from the yakitori store near my house....they sell it at a dollar fifty for 3 tiny pieces......ha! I served it with plum sauce and my sister n mom really liked it...Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tunasushi February 25, 2006

We really liked these, nice flavour and a change from the norm. I added honey and sesame oil as suggested in one of the reviews, about a tablespoon of each worked well. Will make these again with egg fried rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber.S February 19, 2006

I followed the recipe exactly and it was an instant hit with my family. Even my 4-year old fussy-eater loved it. Will definitely try Carb Lover's idea of adding sesame oil and honey next time. A wonderful chix nuggets recipe with an Asian feel to it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iovetocook February 13, 2006

My lil sister's name is Tori,so I just had to open this recipe up and check it out!! I just loveeee chicken lots and don't eat much red meat so I was in desparate need for new ways to cook chicken. We made this for lunch today,following recipe instructions exactly except we bought chicken strips instead of chicken breasts (saved on cutting up chicken time) they made perfect bite size peices with just a few quick cuts!! I always have fresh gingerroot in the freezer and was so happy to finally be able to break it out and use it LOL found this dish easy to prepare,a little messy,hubby and I had flour everywhere LOL but thats just us ( our 3 cats did'nt help matters any either) LOL This was soooooooo delcious,chicken was very tender,juicy & very very tasty!!!the combination of garlic and gingerroot is surely a palate pleaser,my taste buds were dancing in delight!!! I served this recipe with chinese take out meatless lo-mein and chinese 5 vegetible delight to make a super simple recipe an even more simple complete dinner,next time I make this recipe I think I will serve this with "Rachel Ray's" "No Pain lo-mein" recipe (I was too lazy to do that today) LOL Hubby and I both enjoyed your recipe tremendously,,it was incredibly delicious and most asuredly a keeper!!! 5 plus plus stars from us here!! Oh and I just had to send this to my lil sis Tori too,she got a big kick out of her name being in the recipe name exclaiming "Oh WOW my very own recipe and saying that she would keep this and try it sometime soon" Thanks for a spectacular new way to do chicken!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie #5 August 06, 2005
Tori No Kara-age (deep Fried Chicken Nuggets)