Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Uncle Bill's Deep Fried Zucchini Strips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Uncle Bill's Deep Fried Zucchini Strips

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2011

      Spectacular fried zucchini ~ and coming from the "Longmeadow" where zucchini come up like thistle growing in our long fields....this comes at the most appropriate time. Man, these are great! The only small change was adding some Tabasco to the egg/milk mixture ~ (but certainly no need to!) I used the Bearnaise sauce...and this complimented the sticks....perfectly. I used panko, and also after dipping the second time in the flour, I let them sit for about 5 minutes then put into panko and that took hold as though I lassoed it to itself. Great recipe, Uncle Bill! Hugs from the farm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Yum, thanks! I used multigrain saltines, more than 1/2 tsp of seasoning salt, and added kosher salt, black pepper and garlic powder to the flour mix. I served with a dip I made from just light mayonnaise, lemon juice and garlic salt. Delicious side dish for our pork chops!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      This was very good. I used seasoned bread crumbs instead of saltines and served with a horseradish/mayo sauce. Thank you for sharing. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Great breading. Used Panko Japanese crumbs (cause that was laying around) and fried in peanut oil. Great crunch but needed some flavor (tried seasoning them but I just couldn't get the flavor to my liking). I think next time we'll go with the saltines and evoo. I think the Panko and peanut oil combo was too bland. But the technique produced a superb breading! Thanks Uncle Bill.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      So tasty! The oil was too hot and didn't allow the zucchini to tenderize enough, so we turned it down to about 325 degrees F and it was perfect. I also used breadcrumbs (garlic and herb flavored) as I didn't have saltines on hand. The fried zucchini was so tasty that it inspired us to deep fry a bunch of stuff for fun after starting these- pickles, artichoke hearts, mozzarella, and even cheddar wurst and hot sausages (but the zucchini was my favorite)! Not the healthiest meal, but so good! :) Thank you for sharing this Uncle Bill!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Thanks for a great recipe-I took the advice of Pot Scrubber and used breadcrumbs instead of cracker crumbs. I added some grated parm-reggiano to the breadcrumbs too. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      I just found a zucchini in a my garden...I'm going to try this recipe tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2014

      Absolutely LOVED the crispiness of this recipe! I added some Italian seasoning and grated Parmesan/Romano to the crushed crackers. I will definitely be making this again A new favorite for my family. Thanks "Uncle Bill" !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      Tried the recipe with the addition of parmesan cheese to panko breading....really liked the results. Even people who do not like zucchini enjoyed this preparation. Will do these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      Yum! Very good! Thanks for posting! This was my first attempt at ever making anything with zucchini and I've rarely deep fried anything so this was an adventure and not too difficult. I didn't want to use so much oil so I sliced the zucchini into circles I could flip rather than into thick long strips. I also had no seasoning salt but added garlic powder, onion powder, pepper and salt to the flour mixture. (I did only one zucchini and had a lot of flour left.) I also decided to add breadcrumbs to my crackers as I simply squished little soup crackers with my fingers and they still seemed too big. Glad I did that because I did end up running out of crackers. (The ones with the crackers did taste much better than plain breadcrumbs though.) I'm not big on dipping but did put a few in spaghetti sauce. eh...just as good plain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      I made these for dinner tonight........and used a couple of zucchini..(mine were small).
      I thought I made too many, but the last left-overs were gone within an hour after dinner !
      They are just as good when they cool as when hot. Very good and easy to prepare. Thanks Uncle Bill. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      I used a different recipe for the flour seasoning mix but I used your method and the cracker crumbs. That was such a great addition. I tried them both with and without the cracker crumbs and with was so so good. I also used them for green beans and cauliflower. It was okay on the cauliflower bur wonderful also on the green beans. I will be doing this again. YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      This recipe was good. Very crispy, but lacked a bit of spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      My husband and I enjoyed this for a light lunch today along with a Greek salad. Thanks! It was easy and so very tasty! Made for the TYM game in the cookbooks forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      Excellent! Made exactly as written and served with a Thai mayo. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      These are wonderful! I followed the recipe as written. I rolled my cracker crumbs really fine with a rolling pin. I used vegetable oil to fry them, and as they came out of the fryer, I salted them lightly. I only used the firm part of the zucchini, I toss out the seedy part. These were firm, crisp, and very tasty!! We will make these again! Thanks Uncle Bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Very good Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      WOW!! I finally found a way that my hubby and kids will eat zucchini! I love it and am growing it in the garden but I could not get them to eat it unless it was in zucchini bread. Even my picky hubby loved them. I do need to figure out a less messy way to do it though. My kitchen was a disaster after making them....but they were SOO worth it. I ran out of ranch and the kids started dipping in thousand island dressing and it was actually really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      These were fabulous!! I used 3 bowls for all of the dunking along with a pair of metal tongs. We also used this to make cheese sticks and they turned out GREAT! I found that what worked best for us was to cut the zucchini into 1/2 inch wide strips, and just over 1/4 inch thick, but we like a lot of "crumb coating" too :) I used just about 1/2 inch of oil and it worked just fine. I think this would be fabulous with other veggies too, like cauliflower or mushrooms!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      We have zucchini coming out our ears right now and needed another option that appealed to the family. Uncle Bill to the rescue! These were fantastic! I made sure I sliced it thin as other reviewers mentioned. I used club crackers instead of saltines. Served with a horseradish mayo dipping sauce. Thanks Bill for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Uncle Bill's Deep Fried Zucchini Strips

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1171.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1002
    85%
    Total Fat 111.3 g
    171%
    Saturated Fat 15.9 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 93.7 mg
    31%
    Sodium 48.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    bearnaise sauce mix

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes