Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Vegan Corn Dogs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegan Corn Dogs

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2008

    • on February 13, 2008

      Good recipe! For the best results and a good old-fashoined "State Fair" taste, use very finely ground cornmeal, add just a tad more suger and use an electric mixer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      We loved it! my Fh's (future husbands) kids hated it bummed as I thought it'd be a treat for his sons birthday. They aren't vegan/vegetarian when they're with his ex so I'm sure if they were used to eating vegan sausages they'd love it too I'm sure. On the plus side the son said he liked the batter (that's the important part) :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      I had a hard time making these look nice, but they tasted outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      The batter was really great. I too was a deep-frying novice and ended up using a few more splashes of soy milk to get the consistency just right. I made these for a vegan friend at a gathering, though I personally am not a fan of tofu hot dogs. I will definitely make these again, but also whip up a batch with regular hot dogs! PS- Folowed directions exactly except didn't have dry mustard, so I omitted it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I'm not vegan or vegetarian, but my diet dictates no red meat, so I used Jennie-O Turkey hot dogs. I followed this recipe exactly, except that I cut the hot dogs in half and skipped skewers, just used a fork to dip the hot dogs in batter and retrieve from the oil. I wasn't sure if my batter was too thick or not, and was afraid to add more soy milk. I think it was just right, but this is the first time I ever made corn dogs before. Using the glass to hold the batter should have worked. So should drying off the hot dogs before battering, but the batter refused to stick. I think I got the hot dogs about 2/3 covered and couldn't do much better so after many frustrating tries I just started 'em frying. The batter was delicious, though, and I had a bit left to make about 5 little hush puppies. I served this with Baked Onion Rings. Although I couldn't get these to turn out like neatly battered corn dogs, they were still good. I like mine in ketchup and mustard. Bf just ate his plain, he also said they wbere good. At least he didn't laugh at my poor ability to batter them, lol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

    • on February 23, 2007

    • on October 30, 2005

      Very good! I made these as todays lunch, 25 minutes total time including cleaning. I added more salt and some pepper to add a little more flavor. Definantly a good quick meal. Try making more batter than you need and frying the leftover batter as a side, add some hot sauce for spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2005

      Ooooouuuuu weeeeeeeeee this was really good. I loved them and so did the 20's crowd that was here playing video games yesterday. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      These were great and easy! I cut my tofu dogs in half for "mini" corn dogs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2004

      oh yeah! this is definately my favorite corndog recipe. we have been using "tofu pups", but next time, we are going to use yves jumbo dogs. they have a more authentic hotdog flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2003

      Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2002

      These are superior corn dogs! I'm not vegan, so I used Healthy Choice low fat dogs. The final product was absolutely delicious. Carol ya done good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2002

      Carol, I looked all over for a recipe for vegan corndogs before finding yours. These were just delicious. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegan Corn Dogs

    Serving Size: 1 (47 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 115.2
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    24%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 269.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tofu hot dogs

    egg substitute

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites