Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Deep-fried / Vietnamese Spring Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vietnamese Spring Rolls

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2003

      Made these along with another recipe and these were by far the best. We added fresh hot pepper too but the cilantro really kicked it up. Left the egg out because it did not seem to need it. We baked some and froze the rest. Thanks for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I have been looking for a good vietnamese spring roll recipe ever since I had some at this fantastic vietnamese place near where I live. This recipe is SO incredibly close to the ones from the restaurant. The only thing different I did was I ground up a package of shrimp in the food processor and added it in with the ground pork and also added in some lemongrass because the ones I had at the restaurant had ground shrimp and lemongrass in them. I also tried to replicate the sauce from the restaurant which was pretty easy and althought didnt seem great while I was making it, it really went fantastic with the rolls. (the sauce I made was 1 minced chili, 1 clove of minced garlic, 4-5 tbsp of sugar, 2/3 cup water, 1 tbsp of very finely shredded carrots, 1 1/2 tbsp of fresh lime juice, and 5 tbsp of fish sauce...the fish sauce is something Id never heard of before, but after digging a little I found it in the asian section of our grocery store. It comes in a small bottle, is orangy-brown and very watery. It stinks and tasted TERRIBLE on its own but when mixed with the above ingredients it makes a fantastic sauce.) Thanks for posting this recipe. everyone I made it for thought it was absolutely fantastic. I make it all the time. The first time I made it I used the rice papers, which I found did not fry evenly and didnt go crispy like the spring roll wrappers do. After that I only use the spring roll wrappers. I could only find these in a tiny asian store that I came across. None of the grocery stores where I live sell them. Thanks again. This is one of my favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      turned out my great. my boyfriend loves these when we go to vietnamese restaurants and was really impressed i was able to make them and they turned out fantastic. i omitted the white wine (ive never seen wine served at a vietnamese restaurant) and they still turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      A Bit different from my mother's traditional spring rolls but tasty none the less! Also, I tried to seal with water but it wouldn't stay. So instead of sealing with water, I seal with egg yolk, that way, it stays seal. I thought this helped a lot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      Absolutely OUTSTANDING! This recipe is such a big time keeper!!!! I found this recipe really easy to work with and I have never dealt with egg roll/spring roll wrappers at all. And also, not tedious at all. Maybe because I like this sort of thing when I have time. I made a batch and a half of the filling and bought to bunches of spring roll wrappers because Im a pig :) Anyhow, There was 16 in a pack and I made enough to fill the 32 wrappers exactly. Me and BH ate all but 10 of them which I froze. We were hungry and it is his birthday. The only thing that I did differently was I went ahead and bought regular rice (fully cooked it) because I could not find Vemacelli rice at either grocery store that I went to and could not find ground pork other than with about a half pound of ground beef (for meat loaf) so I used that. My BH does not like asian food but he loved this alot. I also didn't make your sauce because I have some great egg roll sauce from an asian store in the refrigerator. Other than that...........Excellent!!! Thank you so much for the great recipe. One more thingy. I did not have any problems whatsoever with the wrappers and they weren't even frozen. I rolled all 32 egg rolls in about 40 minutes. Thank you again so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2003

      I love these egg rolls! I make them fairly often and freeze after frying for a quick snack, I just pull them out, defrost and bake them until hot. I love dipping them in Thai Red Chili Sauce. I always vary the ingredients depending on what I have in the kitchen, usually just making veggie egg rolls, but shrimp is also wonderful. I have a difficult time sealing the edges so that no oil enters, but I am getting better at it with practice. One caution: if you have fingernails be very carefull, the wrappers puncture very easily. When this happens I just sprinkle a little water on and pinch to seal. Thanks a lot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      These were sooooo fun to make and sooooo yummy! Everyone LOVED them, including the kids!! I crave them every day now. I can't wait to make them again. You rock CG! Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2003

      Amazing recipe, cg! And OMG! Without your class, I would never have known how easy it is to make these!(http://www.recipezaar.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?t=47469) The flavor is great, and these are so versatile. Anyone could make these, and really should try. I also made your nuac cham sauce, and it was a wonderful addition! Thanks cg!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2003

      Wonderful! I used shrimp and crab instead of pork, but followed every other direction to the letter. I'm so proud I made this! I had enough left over mixture to fill up 10 more rolls though, which was good, because that means I get to eat more! I served this with Lo Mein and spinach egg drop soup. I also made your Nuoc Cham sauce to go with it. You're amazing Bratty Brat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      Oh wow these were amazing. My son is very fussy with vegies so it was a great way for him to enjoy the ones in the rolls. He and his Dad came back for more they were that good!!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe - it is sure to be a big family favourite now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Wow, fantastic flavor and they looked really nice. I made this recipe last night and wasn't sure how the noodles would fit in but they do. We loved them and will make often. I agree with other reviewers about them being tedious to make but once you get in a flow they go really easy. Thank you for sharing these with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      Holy Mackeral do I loive these! Made for a party and there were 2 problems...1 - most of them were casualties of mine and my DH's tummy, never making it to the party. 2 - There were not enough for the party as everyone wanted more, more, more. This may be partially related to #1 :) thank you so much for sharing a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      Yeah, I think our ideas of a "small onion" may be different. The whole roll tastes REALLY oniony, but I'm going to try and saute my mix before I fill anymore so that the onion cooks down and tastes a bit more pleasant. That's so wierd, and no one else seems to be having this problem, so maybe it's just me. Bummer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      Wow! These taste unbelievable! I made mine with the frozen wrappers and they were stretchy, strong and very easy to use. (Great tip, thank you SOOOOOOOOo MUCH! I used to make fresh rolls with the dry kind and had to throw half away because I couldn't handle them). I bought both large and small wrappers and actually prefer the smaller ones because the crunchy wrapper complements the innards so well. I used 25 large and about 8 small ones with the filling. I substituted ground chicken and chopped shrimp for the pork and did add in the cabbage. I sealed my ends with eggwhite and had no trouble with unwrapping. I served these with Spring roll Sauce from the store (orangy color with shredded carrots in it) and DH went crazy for them. I have frozen 14 of them and can't wait to enjoy them again in the future! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      These are Fabulous!!! The filling is just perfect (even without the rice vermacelli which I couldnt find). I used egg roll wrappers since that was all I could find and they turned out great. Had to fight off the beloved hubby and kid since these were made to be frozen for Mondays dinner. I also made the Nuoc (?) dipping sauce and everyone raved! Thank you so much - I have added this to my official recipe book to make over and over!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      I am giving this 5 stars for the filling, which was spot on! I used chicken, which I pulsed in the processor untill finely chopped, but not minced. I used the dry rice wrappers, as I dont have a problem with them, but when I defrosted the rolls, and fried them, most of the wrappers burst, so I guess the frozen "stretchy" ones would be better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      Delicious! I made mine as writen but used only the veggies abd served with peanut dipping sauce. Rice paper rolls need to be dipped in warm water, then used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      Tehses were fun to make! It didn't take as long as suggested either!We grilled a little marinated chicken and finely chopped it rather than using pork. We also made an easy sauce a friend from Thailand taught me - ketchup, water and sugar mixed in basically equal parts, then top with chopped peanuts! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      These were fabulous and have become one of our guilty weekend pleasures. We did cut the rice vermicelli up into small pieces in the food processor the second time though because we found that it poked through the wrappers and made the rolls greasier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2005

      Hey There- These were great! I had been looking for one similar to those I had on Gabriola, and my BF has been craving "egg rolls" for a while. I wanted to try these so I made a batch Friday night. Easy to put together-I used my food processor, and the flavor was wonderful. I did hit it with some heat as we like hot food but other than that I satyed true to your recipe. I recomend this to anyone, from beginner to expierenced cook. Great flavor, nice texture and like I said-came together fast! I served with stir fry veggies! Thanks for posting! Di

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vietnamese Spring Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (1003 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 112.4
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    42%
    Total Fat 5.2 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 26.3 mg
    8%
    Sodium 64.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes