13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My first time making egg rolls! What fun...used ground pork for the filling and tried the deep fry method and the steamed version. Loved them both. Thanks for posting! Barb

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aroostook September 23, 2002

My family absolutely LOVES this recipe. It has become a must have. I prefer putting this filling into full size eggrolls, and love the results. I double the recipe and freeze them. The secret is to deep fry them for about 2 minutes and drain. Then to reheat, just throw the frozen eggrolls into hot grease and cook until done. Delicious!!! Just to make sure

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea Tarpley March 31, 2007

My husband spent 2 yrs in Korea and said that this recipe probably came from a well-to-do family. We added noodles, didn't add the mushrooms or the yellow onions. The cabbage needs to be julienned not diced otherwise it won't fit well in the wrap. With some adjustments this was a good base recipe. The directions were perfect! The wonderful thing about Egg Roll recipes is that you can so easily adjust it to fit your tastes. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiggerkitti October 29, 2009

These were good, though I did not use any eggs and added more cabbage and less carrots. Not as time sonsuming as I thought, and GREAT dipped in the dipping sauce for the Shiitake Mushroom Potsticker recipe on this site. I ran out of time the night I made them so put the leftover (unfried) ones in the fridge until the next night-they were actually BETTER that next night. Will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
korij March 23, 2007

Just like Korea! Trading MRE's for Ajumma's home cooking. My Hubby and I tripled the recipe and spent the afternoon making authentic sized yaki. we deep fried it as we remembered it and couldn't stop eating them. Thanks for the memories!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petluver Chef February 03, 2007

I made these last night, they are really good.... They taste just like the real thing that you would find in a Korean restaurant. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennilou7 July 01, 2004

Yummmm Yaki Mandu!! This was a great snack coming home from a night out in the wee wee wee hours! In Korea, you can get Yaki Mandu on any street corner from the vendors and one bag of 10 cost less than $1. I haven't tried this recipe yet, but since I spent 4 years in Korea, this looks pretty authentic. However, daramis is right in the fact that good Korean food takes time to prepare and that using a food processor takes away from the authenticity of it. Korean women (Ajumma - how you address a married woman like "Mrs." here) never use food processors and mix everything by hand. Daramis is partially right, but her delivery was lacking. Yaki Mandu is never soggy inside and should be chunky. Also, traditional Yaki Mandu is not the size of an egg roll, but more like a bite sized spring roll. Regardless of the American preparation method, this is as close to traditional yaki mandu as you can get!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy17 May 05, 2004

Great recipe, Jelisa!!! I did use a food processor and DID NOT have watery or soggy eggrolls!!! You just have to blot up the moisture from the chopped veggies....DUH! These were sooooo good and very very easy to make. I also used pork and I made deep fried mandu and steamed mandu. BOTH were excellent!!!!!! They would definitely be great for parties. My Brother-in-law's girlfriend is 1/2 Korean and she said they were very good, too! I think it is awful that someone who didn't even bother to make your recipe gave you such a bad review when the dish is really so good!!!!! Thank you for the awesome recipe!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerkitten D February 05, 2004

BAD TIP! Never use a food processor if you're making mandu. I've been making mandu with my mom since I was 6 and if you try to use cheap short cuts you'll see the results in your food. The filling gets too soggy since the food processor makes a mess of the veggies. If you have soggy filling your mandu pops open in the oil ruining your oil, which means you have to stop cooking strain the oil or it burns the mandu. If you want good mandu then you have to do it right, which unfortunately means doing it the "hard" way, but if you put in the effort you'll be rewarded with great food that you won't be embarrassed to serve friends and guests.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daramis June 15, 2003

These might be "egg rolls", but they're about as far from yakimandu as chinese fortune cookies.<br/>Edit: btw, since the entire internet apparently has no idea, I'll clue you in, you dont use egg roll wraps for dumplings (which is what yaki-mandu is..., if anyone ever bothered to look them up.) So, you're quite literally making egg rolls with this recipe. Which is of course, NOT yaki-mandu. So, all the reviewers saying this is like actual Korean food, or so on, idk who's lying to who; most of these ingredients arent even in traditional yaki-mandu.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Matt Harding August 29, 2014
Yaki-Mandu (Korean Egg Roll)